## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Mining and Rural Development**

### **Assembly Bill 820**

Relating to: duties of the Public Service Commission under the broadband expansion grant program and certification of political subdivisions under that program.

By Representatives Quinn, E. Brooks, Tranel, VanderMeer, Bernier, Kulp, Mursau, Novak, Krug, T. Larson, Nerison, Spiros, Edming, Ripp, Swearingen, Petryk, Czaja, Kitchens, Tauchen, A. Ott and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Harsdorf, Roth, Gudex and Tiffany.

January 29, 2016 Referred to Committee on Mining and Rural Development

February 04, 2016 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Kulp; Representatives Mursau, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, E. Brooks, T. Larson, Kremer, Milroy, Danou, Billings, Considine and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Bernier and Krug.

## Appearances For

- Representative Romaine Quinn 75th Assembly District
- Bob Seitz Public Service Commission
- Angie Dickinson Public Service Commission
- Bill Esbeck WSTA
- John Klatt WSTA

### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Representative Ed Brooks 50th Assembly District
- Representative Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District
- Drew Petersen TDS
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Lorenzo Cruz CenturyLink
- Kent Disch AT & T Wisconsin
- Representative Kathy Bernier 68th Assembly District

#### • Tom Moore - WI Cable Communications Assn

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## February 10, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kulp; Representatives Mursau, Bernier, Novak, Quinn, VanderMeer, E. Brooks, Krug, T. Larson, Kremer, Milroy, Danou, Billings, Considine and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Larson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Kulp; Representatives
Mursau, Bernier, Novak, Quinn,
VanderMeer, E. Brooks, Krug, T. Larson,
Kremer, Milroy, Danou, Billings, Considine
and Spreitzer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 820** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kulp; Representatives
Mursau, Bernier, Novak, Quinn,
VanderMeer, E. Brooks, Krug, T. Larson
and Kremer.

Noes: (5) Representatives Milroy, Danou, Billings, Considine and Spreitzer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

James Emerson Committee Clerk