# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Mental Health Reform**

## **Assembly Bill 786**

Relating to: report on dementia crisis unit pilot program and placement of individuals with dementia.

By Representatives Rohrkaste, Hesselbein, Bernier, Novak, Tittl, Brostoff, Meyers, Jagler, Kolste, Czaja, Macco, Skowronski, Katsma, Petryk, Swearingen, Kleefisch, Quinn, Kitchens, Kahl, A. Ott, Ripp, Zepnick, Spiros, Subeck, Murphy, E. Brooks, Sargent, Kulp, Ballweg, Nygren, Ohnstad, Johnson, Sanfelippo, Jarchow, Allen, Knodl, Steineke, Sinicki, Born and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Carpenter, C. Larson and Hansen.

January 22, 2016 Referred to Committee on Mental Health Reform

January 25, 2016 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler,

Ballweg, Novak, Sanfelippo, Rohrkaste, VanderMeer, Considine, Riemer, Sargent and

Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rodriguez.

## Appearances For

- Representative Mike Rohrkaste 55th Assembly District
- Jon Hoelter Department of Health Services
- Helen Marks Dicks AARP WI
- Janet Zander Greater WI Agency on Aging Resources
- Tom Hlavacek Alzheimer's Association

### **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Representative Debra Kolste 44th Assembly District
- Senator Tim Carpenter
- Rob Gunderman ADAW
- Tim McGinn Wi Health Care/WiCAL
- Tom Ramsey Leading Age Wisconsin

- Jenifer Fischer Kamenick Aging and Disability Professionals Association of Wisconsin
- Susan Fadness AARP
- James Lamont AARP
- Tom Frazier WI Aging Advocacy Network
- Wilma Lamont AARP
- George Senteney AARP
- Richard Crary AARP

## **Registrations Against**

None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

# February 01, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler,
Novak, Rohrkaste, VanderMeer, Rodriguez,
Considing Piemer Sargent and Brostoff

Considine, Riemer, Sargent and Brostoff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Ballweg and Sanfelippo.

Moved by Representative Sargent, seconded by Representative VanderMeer that **Assembly Bill 786** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Novak, Rohrkaste, VanderMeer, Rodriguez, Considine, Riemer, Sargent and Brostoff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sargent, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Jagler, Novak, Rohrkaste, VanderMeer, Rodriguez, Considine, Riemer, Sargent and Brostoff.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Steve Hall Committee Clerk