## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Judiciary**

#### Assembly Bill 673

Relating to: creating a program to protect the confidentiality of addresses for victims of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; and requiring the exercise of rule-making authority.

By Representatives Kleefisch, C. Taylor, Ohnstad, Gannon, Horlacher, Petryk, Milroy, Hebl, Johnson, Thiesfeldt, Mason, Berceau, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Kremer, Bernier, Murphy, Kahl, Subeck, A. Ott, Goyke, Doyle, Jacque, Jagler, E. Brooks, Sinicki, Rohrkaste, T. Larson, Krug, Rodriguez, Kolste, Born, Allen, Considine, Nerison, Shankland, Billings, Ballweg, Skowronski, Heaton and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, Shilling, Carpenter, Gudex, C. Larson, Hansen, L. Taylor, Risser, Erpenbach, Vukmir, Lassa, Darling, Wirch, Marklein, Ringhand, Harris Dodd, Harsdorf and Olsen.

January 11, 2016	Referred to Committee on Judiciary
Junuar j 11, 2010	

## January 28, 2016 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative J. Ott; Representatives
		Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson,
		Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Chris Taylor, bill's author
- Meghan Sovey WI Women's Policy Institute
- Tony Gibart End Domestic Abuse WI
- Teri Jenousa Niculai self
- Vicky Selkow and Korey Cundin Legal Action of WI
- Carliss Karasov WI Women's Policy Institute

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Senator Scott Fitzgerald, bill's author
- Sen. Jennifer Shilling
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police

- Carousel Bayrd YWCA
- Dominic Holt WI Coalition Against Sexual Assult

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 04, 2016	<b>Executive Session Held</b>
-------------------	-------------------------------

Present:	(9)	Representative J. Ott; Representatives
		Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson,
		Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and Goyke.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (9) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and Goyke.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 673** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (9) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson, Kerkman, Wachs, Hebl and Goyke.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk