Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing and Real Estate

Assembly Bill 563

Relating to: authorizing towns located in populous counties to withdraw from county zoning; requiring certain towns to enact a zoning ordinance and a comprehensive plan; removing plat and certified survey map approval authority from a county if the town in which the subdivision or land is located has withdrawn from county zoning; farmland preservation ordinances of towns that withdraw from county zoning and eligibility in those towns for the farmland preservation tax credit; and prohibiting restrictions on land that is not shoreland or that is not within a floodplain.

By Representatives Ripp, Kleefisch, Jagler, Ballweg, Duchow, Hutton, Jacque, Jarchow, T. Larson, Sanfelippo and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, Olsen and Nass.

December 04, 2015 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

December 10, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen,

R. Brooks, Katsma, Murphy, Murtha, Young

and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Genrich.

Appearances For

- REP. KEITH RIPP 42ND ASSEMBLY DIST-AUTHOR
- JERRY DERR DANE CO. TOWNS ASSOC.
- MARK HAZELBAKER DANE CO TOWNS ASSOC.
- ANTHONY VARDA
- JOHN BRIXY TOWN OF BLUE MOUNDS
- DENNIS DELLI MT HORAB
- RICK SKINDRUD
- DON HOFFMAN TOWN OF SPRINGFIELD
- VERN WENDT TOWN OF BLACK EARTH
- JAMES PULADMACHER DANE CO TOWNS ASSOC
- JAMES ANDERSON MADISON BLOCK AND STONE
- MARK GELLER TOWN OF VERONA
- TIM ROEHL DCTA

- ANDREW DISCH MADISON AREA BUILDERS ASSOC.
- ROBERT PROCTER WI BUILDERS ASSOC
- BOB WELCH DANE CO. TOWNS ASSOC.

Appearances Against

- KYLE CHRISTIANSON WI COUNTIES ASSOC
- PATRICK MILES DANE CO
- SHARON CORRIGAN DANE CO.
- MARY KOLAR DANE CO.
- MICKEY BEIL DANE CO.
- DENNIS O'LOUGHLIN DANE CO.
- TODD VIOLANTE DIRECTOR DANE COUNTY PLANNING
- FORBES MCINTOSH DANE COUNTY CITIES BUILDING ASSOC
- TODD SCHMIDT VILLAGE OF WANNAKEE
- JOHN ALBERT SQUIRRLE LAKE ASSOC

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- BYRON CHASE
- PHIL SVKIM
- GARY SAWALL
- CARI FUSS
- DAVID MOLL
- DON T
- CHAD WUEBBEN ENCORE CONSTRUCTION INC
- MARK BREHMEZ
- DON ESPOSITO FORMER WBA PRESIDENT
- BRIAN MCKEE
- BRAD BOYCKS WBA
- JOHN KASSNER
- WILLIAM DAVIDSON
- CAROLE SCHAEFFER
- TONY HEINRICHS
- THOMAS WILSON TOWN OF WESTPORT
- JENNIFER BERGMAN-KIPPLEY
- JAMES GRAHAM
- REP JOEL KLEEFISCH 38TH ASSEMBLY DIST.
- JOLENE PLAUTZ WI TOWNS ASSOC
- SCOTT GRABINS REPUBLICAN PARTY OF DANE CO

- PETER STEBBINS MADISON AREA BUILDERS ASSOC.
- RICHARD WOOD
- MARK HEINOLD
- BARB TEMKIN
- HARVEY TEMKIN
- MELLISSA RAKESTRAW
- AMANDA FISHER
- PAUL CONNELL

Registrations Against

- KURT SONNENTAG MAYOR CITY OF MIDDLETON
- DENNIS O'LOUGHLIN
- DAVID AHREINS MADISON CITY COUNCIL
- ZIA BRUCAYA
- SENATOR MARK MILLER
- AMBER SMITH CLEAN WI
- BILL BURNS VERONA ADMINISTRATOR
- ANDREA KAMINSKI LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF WI
- JASON KRAMAR VILLAGE OF DEFOREST TRUSTEE
- DONNA OLSON CITY OF STOUGHTON MAYOR
- SUE PECK VILLAGE OF MARSHALL ADMINISTRATOR
- JON HOCHKAMMER VERONA MAYOR
- JUDD BLAU VILLAGE OF DEFOREST PRESIDENT
- CURT WITYNSKI LEAGUE OF WI MUNICIPALITIES
- JENNIFER GIEGRICE WI LEAGUE OF CONSERVATION VOTERS

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 02, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, R. Brooks, Katsma, Murphy, Murtha, Young, Genrich and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, R. Brooks, Katsma, Murphy, Murtha and Young.

Noes: (2) Representatives Genrich and Stuck.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Murtha that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, R. Brooks, Katsma, Murphy, Murtha and Young.

Noes: (2) Representatives Genrich and Stuck.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 563** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, R. Brooks, Katsma, Murphy and Murtha.

Noes: (3) Representatives Young, Genrich and Stuck.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Charlie Bellin Committee Clerk