Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 547

Relating to: trespass and damage to property owned or used by an energy provider and providing a criminal penalty.

By Representatives Steffen, E. Brooks, Gannon, Kahl, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, Murphy, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Ripp, Schraa, Tauchen, Tittl, Weatherston, Zepnick and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Cowles, Gudex and Lasee.

November 24, 2015 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

December 09, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives

Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen,

Weatherston, Tranel, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick,

Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Jarchow.

Appearances For

- Rep. David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Dale Steffes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Ed Brooks 50th Assembly District
- Sen. Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Peter Kammer Municipal Electric Utilities Association
- John Garvin American Transmission Company
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Michael Welsh NextEra Energy
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- John Sumi Madison Gas & Electric
- Beata Wierzba Wisconsin Electric Cooperatives
- Kristin Gilkes Alliant Energy

• Nathan Franklin - Dairyland Power Cooperative

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 15, 2015 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Tranel, Jarchow, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Tranel, Jarchow, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Larson that **Assembly Bill 547** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Tranel, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Noes: (1) Representative Jarchow.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Matt Spencer Committee Clerk