Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 663

Relating to: restitution owed to victims of crime.

By Representatives Hutton, Kleefisch, Ballweg, E. Brooks, Brostoff, Czaja, Goyke, Horlacher, Jarchow, Johnson, Kahl, Knodl, Kooyenga, Murphy, Novak, Nygren, Schraa, Shankland, Skowronski, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Heaton and Ohnstad; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Wanggaard, Darling, Erpenbach, Gudex, Harsdorf, Kapenga, Lasee, LeMahieu, Moulton, Roth, Shilling, Vukmir and Lassa.

January 08, 2016 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 14, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Kremer, Spiros, J. Ott, Rodriguez, Horlacher, Novak, Born, Duchow, Goyke, Kessler, Zamarripa and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Rob Hutton 13th Assembly District
- Senator Luther Olsen 14th Senate District
- Attorney General Brad Schimel Schimel
- District Attorney Ishmael Ozanne Dane County District Attorney's Office
- Amy Brown Dane County District Attorney's Office, Victim Witness Unit
- Mary Hogan Barron County District Attorney's Office

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Beth Haderoski Ozaukee County Victim Witness Protection Program
- Ali Krueger Washington County Victim Witness Protection Program
- Michelle Mettner Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

• John Bauknecht - UMOS

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 28, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Kremer, Spiros, J. Ott, Rodriguez, Horlacher, Novak, Born, Duchow, Goyke, Zamarripa and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kessler.

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 663** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Kleefisch; Representatives Kremer, Spiros, J. Ott, Rodriguez, Horlacher, Novak, Born, Duchow, Goyke, Zamarripa and Johnson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Ashlee Moore Committee Clerk