## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### **Assembly Bill 744**

Relating to: requiring institutions of higher education to provide information to students relating to educational costs and financial literacy.

By Representatives Murphy, Krug, VanderMeer, Macco, Kulp, Gannon, Knudson, Neylon, Czaja, Mursau, Hintz, Kremer, Petryk, Duchow, Rohrkaste, Knodl, T. Larson, Quinn, Bernier, Ballweg, Kleefisch, Rodriguez, R. Brooks, A. Ott, Novak, Born, Tranel, Edming, Loudenbeck, Sanfelippo, Nerison and Kitchens; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Gudex, Lasee, Moulton and Kapenga.

January 19, 2016 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 21, 2016 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg,

Krug, Macco, Wachs, Berceau, Billings,

Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives R. Brooks and Tranel.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Dave Murphy 56th Senate District
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Executive Secretary John Reinemann Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB)
- Ciana Rose UW-Stevens Point Student Government Organization
- Katie Cronmiller UW Stevens Point Student Government Association

#### Appearances Against

- Scot Ross One Wisconsin Now
- Program Director Analiese Eicher One Wisconsin Now

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### Registrations For

Senator Frank Lasee - 1st Senate District

- President Ray Cross University of Wisconsin System
- UW Board of Regents UW Board of Regents
- President Rolf Wegenke Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Executive Director Layla Merrifield Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association
- William Neville Milwaukee Area Technical College

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

### January 28, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg,
Krug, Tranel, Macco, Wachs, Berceau,
Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative R. Brooks.

Moved by Representative Hesselbein, seconded by Representative Billings that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Wachs, Berceau, Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Noes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Tranel and Macco.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 744** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Tranel and Macco.

Noes: (5) Representatives Wachs, Berceau, Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk