Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 741

Relating to: grants to students enrolled in technical colleges and University of Wisconsin college campuses to meet emergency financial need and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Murphy, Heaton, Novak, Macco, Kulp, Mursau, Krug, Kremer, Petryk, Rohrkaste, Quinn, Bernier, Ballweg, Kleefisch, Rodriguez, A. Ott, Born, Tranel, Edming, Sanfelippo, VanderMeer, Nerison and Kitchens; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Gudex, Lasee and Moulton.

January 19, 2016 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 21, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg,

Krug, Macco, Wachs, Berceau, Billings,

Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives R. Brooks and Tranel.

Appearances For

- Representative Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Executive Secretary John Reinemann WI Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB)
- Assoc Vice Chancellor Student Services and Enrollment Management Richard Barnhouse - UW Colleges and Extension

Appearances Against

- Scot Ross One Wisconsin Now
- Program Director Analiese Eicher One Wisconsin Now

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Frank Lasee 1st Senate District
- President Ray Cross University of Wisconsin System

- UW Board of Regents UW Board of Regents
- William Neville Milwaukee Area Technical College
- Executive Director Layla Merrifield Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association
- President Rolf Wegenke WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU)

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 28, 2016 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg,
Krug, Tranel, Macco, Wachs, Berceau,
Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative R. Brooks.

Moved by Representative Jorgensen, seconded by Representative Hesselbein that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Wachs, Berceau, Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Noes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Tranel and Macco.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Rohrkaste, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 741** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Tranel and Macco.

Noes: (5) Representatives Wachs, Berceau, Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk