## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Children and Families**

## **Assembly Bill 478**

Relating to: disclosure of pupil records that are pertinent to addressing a pupil's educational needs to the Department of Children and Families, a county department of human services or social services, or a tribal organization that is legally responsible for the care and protection of the pupil.

By Representatives Ballweg, Genrich, Horlacher, Hutton, Johnson, Kitchens, Knodl, Murphy, A. Ott, Rodriguez, Steffen and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Wanggaard, Bewley, Gudex, Harsdorf, C. Larson, Lassa, Olsen, Petrowski and L. Taylor.

November 30, 2015 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

## January 06, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives
Gannon, Vorpagel, Kerkman, Brandtjen,
Neylon, Duchow, Johnson, Billings, Kahl and
Subeck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives R. Brooks and Heaton.

#### Appearances For

- Sen. Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Rep. Joan Ballweg 41st Assembly District
- Fredi-Ellen Bove Dept. of Children and Families
- Wendy Henderson Dept. of Children and Families
- Dee Pettack Dept. of Public Instruction
- Nic Dibble Dept. of Public Instruction
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Lynne Davis State Bar of WI
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf WI Counties Association

## **Registrations Against**

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 13, 2016 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives Gannon, R. Brooks, Vorpagel, Kerkman,

Brandtjen, Heaton, Neylon, Duchow, Johnson,

Billings, Kahl and Subeck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 478** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Rodriguez; Representatives Gannon, R. Brooks, Vorpagel, Kerkman,

Brandtjen, Heaton, Neylon, Duchow, Johnson, Billings, Kahl and Subeck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Vincent Williams Committee Clerk