Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 388

Relating to: reorganizing the Government Accountability Board, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and making appropriations.

By Representatives Knudson, Bernier, Knodl, August, Ballweg, R. Brooks, Czaja, Hutton, Jagler, Katsma, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Kooyenga, Kremer, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, Loudenbeck, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Skowronski, Vorpagel, Sanfelippo and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, LeMahieu, S. Fitzgerald, Nass, Wanggaard, Darling, Kapenga and Stroebel.

October 09, 2015 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

October 13, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Bernier; Representatives

Vorpagel, Horlacher, Craig, Sanfelippo,

Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Thiesfeldt.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dean Knudson 30th Assembly District
- Sen. Leah Vukmir 5th Senate District
- Bob Spindell
- David Blaska

Appearances Against

- Joanne Brown
- Kevin Kennedy Government Accountability Board
- Jay Heck Common Cause in WI
- Scott McDonnell Dane County Clerk
- Mary Ann Hanson
- Judge Gerald Nichol Government Accountability Board
- Lori Stottler Beloit City Clerk
- Steven Kulig
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Mark Kelderman Columbus Cannabis Initiative
- William Hotz
- James Mueller
- Marilyn Townsend
- John Allon

- Nancy Slattery
- David Martin
- Robert Steinhofer
- Karen Edson
- Colleen Gruszynski
- Debra Morin
- Linea Sundstrom
- Marcia Riquelme DeForest Area Progressives
- Joanne Kanter
- Lisa Tolefson
- Sen Tim Carpenter 3rd Senate District

Appearances for Information Only

• Jamie Aulik - Manitowoc County Clerk

Registrations For

- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Steve Nass 11th Senate District
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Ardis Cerny

Registrations Against

- Peter Skopec WISPIRG
- Dana Schultz
- Rep. Tod Ohnstad 65th Assembly District
- Scott Foval People for the American Way
- Dan Ross
- Bill Kraus
- Paul Malischke
- Kathleen Fullin
- Mike McCabe
- JoAnn Walsh
- Brook Soltvedt
- Jeff Knight
- Sharon Nash
- Shirley Haidinger
- Joseph Elder
- Mary Juckem
- Susan Depp
- Mary Nelson
- Matt Bodenbach
- Bedros Onuavian
- Joseph Ziegler
- Beverly Speer Wisconsin Democracy Campaign

- Sherry Caves
- Rep. Chris Taylor 76th Assembly District
- Marian Matthews League of Women Voters Dane County
- Janice Bauman
- Janet Murphy
- Rep. Andy Jorgensen 43rd Assembly District
- Nora Cusack
- Rose Sime
- Genie Ogden
- David Knutzen
- Judith Stadler
- Karen Gunderson
- Brent Nicastro
- Mary Melius
- Ed Mason
- Neil Gleason
- Ingrid Rothe
- Bob Liska
- Chris Ahmuty ACLU of Wisconsin
- Rep. Mark Spreitzer 45th Assembly District
- Kevin Rusch
- Susanne Breckenridge
- Laurene Bach
- Rebecca Alwin
- Penny Bernard Schaber
- Sen. Julie Lassa 24th Senate District
- Rep. Gary Hebl 46th Assembly District
- Rep. Debra Kolste 44th Assembly District
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Kathryn Mulligan League of Women Voters
- Doug Yangen
- Ellen Fisher
- Eda Wilson
- Beverly Killian
- George Pbhw (sp?)
- Rep Peter Barca 64th Assembly District
- Patrick Bohn
- Rep. Dianne Hesselbein 79th Assembly District
- Larry Christianson
- Michael Wilder
- Gail Bliss
- Mary Anglim

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 15, 2015 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Bernier; Representatives

Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig, Sanfelippo, Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Noes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Berceau, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Noes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Kessler, seconded by Representative Zamarripa that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Noes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

Noes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Noes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Zamarripa, seconded by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

Noes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Vorpagel, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 388** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Bernier; Representatives Vorpagel, Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Craig and Sanfelippo.

Noes: (3) Representatives Berceau, Zamarripa and Kessler.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Chad Zuleger Committee Clerk