Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development, Forestry, Mining, and Revenue

Senate Bill 632

Relating to: local regulation of nonmetallic mining and preservation of marketable nonmetallic mineral deposits.

By Senator Tiffany; cosponsored by Representative Ballweg.

March 03, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (4) Senator Tiffany; Senators Darling, Grothman

and Lehman.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Jauch.

Appearances For

- Tom Tiffany State Senator Senate District 12
- Joan Ballweg State Representative 41st Assembly District
- Mark Reihl WI State Council of Carpenters
- Terry McGowan Local 139 International Union of Operating Engineers
- Brian Nodolf Greg Bechel Truckings and Excavating LLC
- Bill White WI Industrial Sand Association
- Rich Budinger WI Association of Industrial Sand
- Eric McLeod WI Industrial Sand Coalition/Fairmount Minerals
- Aaron Scott Fairmount Minerals
- Eric Bott Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Timm Speerschneider WI Transportation Builders Association
- Pat Osborne APW

Appearances Against

- Kathleen Vinehout State Senator Senate District 31
- Rick Stadelman Wisconsin Towns Association
- Dwight Jelle
- Bryce Black Town Chairman Town of Frankfort
- Kay Hamilton Town of Frankfort
- Sarah Palodichuk Town Chair Town of Oak Grove
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities

- Jon W. Schultz
- Edie Ehlert Crawford Stewardship Project
- Forest Jahnke Crawford Stewardship Project
- John Allen Reedsburg Area Concerned Citizens
- Linda Meadowcroft
- Marcia Riquelme
- Paula Mohan
- Susan Michetti SWWAP
- Patricia Hammel
- Adean Eckle Echo Valley Hope

Appearances for Information Only

- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Joe Mikolajczak
- Renee Greenland
- Irving Smith

Registrations For

- Joe Strohl BNSF Railroad
- Joe Oswald WI Laborers District Council
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Trades Association
- Kevin LaMere Steamfitters Local 601
- Colin Millard Iron Workers District Council of Northcentral States
- Wes Lujan Union Pacific Railroad
- Buddy Julius
- Matthew Segestrom
- Brian J. Nemoir
- Robert W. Jewell APW
- Mark Sander The Kremer Company
- Bill Buglass Payne & Dolan, Inc
- Nick Kraemer The Kraemer Company
- Brad Ottum Relyco Inc
- Tim Peterson James Peterson Sons Inc
- Jim Hoffman Hoffman Construction Company
- Jack Arseneau WI Earth Movers Assn
- Dan Weinkauf Integrity Grading & Excavating
- Ed Reesman Payne and Dolan, Inc.
- Samuel Gratz BNSF, CN, CP & Union Pacific Railroads

Registrations Against

- Lauren West Echo Valley Hope
- John Peck Family Farm Defenders

- Ann Jablonski WI Towns Association
- Rebecca Alwin
- Roger Larson
- Thomas Thoresen
- Barbara Bryce Sierra Club
- Carol Buelow
- Christine Taylor
- Walt Christensen Jefferson County Land and Water Conservation Comm. Chair
- Karin Ringler
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Joan Braune
- Bernie Schlafke
- Samantha Masterton
- Kristina Bartowitz
- Benjamin Sullender
- Jane Jensen
- Joseph Schirmer
- Sonja Lurtschwunger
- Gerhard Luetschweger
- Rachel Byington
- Kelly Herda WI Breast Cancer Coalition
- Dawn Anderson WI Breast Cancer Coalition
- Thomas O'Grady
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Susan Rosa
- Genie Ogden
- Kathy Stella
- JoAnn Vielstra
- Sally Drew
- Mary McCarthy The Nature Conservancy
- Caryl Terrell
- Elizabeth Ward
- Shahla Werner
- Dave Blouin Sierra Club
- James Kerler
- Jennifer Giegerich WI League of Conservation Voters
- Helen Sarakinos River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Rob Ganson
- Mark Quam
- Susanne Breckenridge
- LJ Prip
- William Gruber
- William Sandstrom

- Christine Taylor
- Judith Detert-Moriarty
- Richard Ruecking
- Jeremy Gragert
- Rebecca Alwin
- Chris Hoffman

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 05, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Tiffany; Senators Darling, Grothman, Jauch and Lehman.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Grothman that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Tiffany; Senators Darling, Grothman, Jauch and Lehman.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Grothman that **Senate Bill 632** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Tiffany; Senators Darling and Grothman.

Noes: (2) Senators Jauch and Lehman.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Eric Searing
Committee Clerk