## **Senate**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges**

#### Senate Bill 376

Relating to: student loans, the individual income tax subtract modification for tuition and student fees, creating an authority, to be known as the Wisconsin Student Loan Refinancing Authority, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Hansen, Lassa, Miller, Harris, Lehman, L. Taylor, Wirch, Risser, T. Cullen, C. Larson, Erpenbach, Vinehout, Carpenter, Jauch and Shilling; cosponsored by Representatives Mason, Kolste, Johnson, Wachs, Smith, Pasch, Wright, Goyke, Kahl, Doyle, Zamarripa, Billings, Bewley, Ringhand, Danou, Barnes, Ohnstad, Kessler, C. Taylor, Young, Riemer, Genrich, Hesselbein, Jorgensen, Richards, Barca, Shankland, Hintz, Clark, Milroy, Sargent, Bernard Schaber, Berceau, Pope, Hulsey, Vruwink, Zepnick, Hebl and Sinicki.

October 29, 2013 Referred to Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges

#### February 05, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Harsdorf; Senators Schultz, Gudex, Shilling and Erpenbach.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Cory Mason Representative
- Dave Hansen Senator
- Deb Kolste Representative
- Jennifer Hussli
- Mia Akers Associated Students of Madison (ASM)
- Genevieve Carter Associated Students of Madison (ASM)
- Rebecca Zien National Association of Social Workers (NASW-WI)
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
- Jenni Dye Dane County Board
- Leland Pan Dane County Board
- Tyler Will UW-Eau Claire Student Senate
- Catherine Ruetschlin Demos
- Scot Ross One Wisconsin Now
- Sarah Razner

- Lamonte Moore United Council, UW-Milwaukee
- Faun Moses Public Defender's Office
- Saul Newton UW-Waukesha Student
- Cynthia Riley
- Analiese Eicher

### **Appearances Against**

None.

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

- John Reinemann Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB)
- Susan Fischer UW-Madison
- David Dies Educational Approval Board (EAB)

### **Registrations For**

- Claire Steven College Democrats of UW-Madison
- Peter Gust
- Chris Hoffman Associated Students of Madison (ASM)
- Jacob Jokisch
- Tim Carpenter Senator
- Dianne Hesselbein Representative
- Andy Jorgenson Representative
- Josh Zepnick Representative
- Mandela Barnes Representative
- LaTonya Johnson Representative
- Evan Goyke Representative
- Melissa Sargent Representative
- Dana Wachs Representative
- Jill Billings Representative
- Paul Gabriel District Boards Association
- Robb Kahl Representative
- Lauren Danen
- Victoria Hildebrandt
- Mary Hoynacki
- David Gardner Associated Students of Madison (ASM)
- Janis Ringhand Representative
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Jeff Knight Madison Teachers Inc.
- Sara Bringman Madison Teachers Inc.
- Jenny Tasse
- Suzanne Miller
- Morgan Rae Associated Students of Madison (ASM)
- John Jacobson

- Eileen Dorfman
- Zack Wood
- Andrew Selander
- Richard Batzler
- Lewis Loy
- Kristin Hoffschmidt
- Kim Kohlhaas AFT-Wisconsin
- Sam Gehler
- Anna Landmark
- **Anthony Somerville**
- Ken Somerville
- Aaron Somerville
- **Sherryl Engstrom**
- Jennifer Lewis
- Kayla Emrick
- Hayley Young
- Ann DeGarmo UW-Madison Young Progressives
- Mara Brooks WI Dental Association
- Jim Conrardy Dr.
- Gabriella Stasson
- Kait Bacon
- Meghan Parker
- Marian Leleswick
- Victoria Boucher
- Maggie Mehr
- Amanda Fazzini
- Lauren O'Brien

### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

S. Verna Fowler - Dr. - College of Menominee Nation

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Melissa Weigand

Committee Clerk