# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Transportation, Public Safety, and Veterans and Military Affairs

#### **Senate Joint Resolution 4**

Relating to: creation of a department of transportation, creation of a transportation fund, and deposit of funds into the transportation fund (second consideration). By Senators Petrowski, Carpenter, Lazich, Darling, Farrow, Gudex, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Lasee, Leibham, Moulton, Olsen and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Ripp, Kahl, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Czaja, Danou, Doyle, Endsley, Honadel, Jacque, Jorgensen, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kestell, Klenke, LeMahieu, T. Larson, Marklein, Murphy, Mursau, Nerison, Nygren, A. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pridemore, Schraa, Smith, Spiros, Stone, Steineke, Strachota, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Weininger, Zepnick and August.

January 18, 02013 Referred to Committee on Transportation, Public Safety, and Veterans and Military Affairs

## January 24, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Petrowski; Senators Leibham, Cowles, Carpenter and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Jerry Petrowski Senator
- Craig Thompson Transportation Development Association
- Steve Higgins Payne and Dolan
- Tom Howells Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
- Delora Newton Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business
- Thom Ciske Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce
- Jayne Martinko ACEC
- Mary Ellen O'Brien -

#### **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Hans Noeldner -

#### **Registrations For**

• Robb Kahl - Representative

- Mark Riehl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Doug Parrott Wisconsin Petrolium Marketers
- Jason Culotta WMC
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County
- Pat Osborne Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin
- Pat Osborne Marathon Petroleum Co.
- Richard Stadelman Wisconsin Towns Association
- Bill Smith NFIB
- Patrick Goss Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association
- Pete Hanson Wiscosin Restaurant Association
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Tony Driessen AAA Wisconsin
- Ron Kuehn Wisconsin Cranberry Growers
- Ron Kuehn Professional Insurance Agents
- Ron Kuehn Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers
- Bob Welch International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 139
- Joe Oswald Wisconsin Laborers District Council
- AJ Wilson Iron Workers District Council

### **Registrations Against**

• None.

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

# February 07, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Petrowski; Senators Leibham, Cowles, Carpenter and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Cowles that **Senate Joint Resolution 4** be recommended for adoption as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Petrowski; Senators Leibham, Cowles, Carpenter and Hansen.

Noes: (0) None.

#### ADOPTION AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Cowles that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Petrowski; Senators Leibham, Cowles, Carpenter and Hansen.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Tim Fiocchi

Committee Clerk