Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Labor

Senate Bill 550

Relating to: various changes to the worker's compensation law, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senator Grothman; cosponsored by Representative Knodl.

February 03, 2014 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Labor

February 04, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir, Farrow,

Risser and Harris.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- James Buchen Worker's Compensation Advisory Council
- Stephanie Bloomingdale Worker's Compensation Advisory Council
- Jeff Nass Wisconsin FORCE
- Scott Manley WMC
- Skip Hansen Diversified Insurance Solutions
- David Dunker
- Brian Dake WI Independent Businesses
- Nick Marino SFM
- Charles Burhan Liberty Mutual Insurance

Appearances Against

- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Mary Alagna Self
- Jeff Wilder Dr. WCA
- Laura Leitch WHA
- Connie Kinsella WHA
- Brett Roberts WPTA
- Jeff Rogers ATI Physical Therapy WPTA
- Marion Livingstone Medical College of WI
- Katheryn Kuhn Medical College of WI
- Ryan Natzke Marshfield Clinic
- Vicky Strobel Marshfield Clinic
- Richard Goldberg UOM & Infinity Health Care

Appearances for Information Only

- Scott Shaver Wisconsin Employers for Equitable Worker's Compensation
- Bernard Rosauer WCRB

Registrations For

- Chet Gerlach Assn of Wisconsin Tourism Altvacation
- Pat Gross WI Road Builder's Assn.
- Melissa Sargent Representative 48th Assembly District
- Jordan Lamb Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- Matt Phillips League of Wisconsin
- Matt Phillips Alliance of WI Retailers
- Mark Reihl WI State Council of Carpenters
- Pat Osbourne ABC WI
- Pat Osbourne Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin APW
- Ron Kent Worker's Compensation Advisory Council
- Ed Lump Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Theresa Elliott Sentry Insurance
- Rebecca Hogan WI Coalition on Worker's Compensation
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Matt Banaszynski Independent Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- Jerry Deschane WI Builder's Assn
- Josh Bindl Wisconsin Counties Association
- Joan Ballweg Wisconsin State Assembly
- Russ Podzilni Rock County Board of Supervisors -Chair
- Cindy Phillippi Adams County Clerk
- Lori Djumadi Adams County Board
- Helen Nagler Outagamie County Chair of Finance
- Katrin Patience Outagamie County district 4
- Kathryn Schauf Sauk County Government
- Alice Connors Connors Calumet County Bd.
- Dick Koeppen Waupaca County Chair
- Victor Sanders Marinette County
- Gary Barrington Waupaca Supervisor
- Joyce Roling Grant County personnel director
- Scott Redman Plumbers Union Local 75
- Pat Haukohl Waukesha Co. Board
- Joel Gunnlaugsson Door County Supervisor/Town of Washington Chairman

- Gary Banum Grant County Sup.
- Dale Wiegand Door county supervisor
- Martin Kruger Sauk Co. Board Chair
- Larry Jepsen Polk Co. Supervisor
- Carol Pederson Oneida County Supervisor
- Willie Johnson, Jr. Milwaukee County Supervisor
- Dennis O'Laughlin Dane County Sup.
- Mary Schwalenberg Calumet County Supervisor
- Kathy Schultz Door County Supervisor
- Brian Desmond Oneida County
- Dee Kittelson Bayfield County Vice-chair
- David Holtze Himself
- Chuck Zenner Taylor County Sup.
- David Holtzhausen Clark County District #9
- Wayne Hendrickson Clark County Chair
- William Johnson Polk County Board
- Daryl Standafer St. Croix County Chair
- Pat Thompson St. Croix Cuonty Administator
- Randy Scholz Self
- Joe Waichulis Clark Co. Vice Chair
- William Clendending Wood co. Board
- Lance Pliml Wood Co. Board
- David Callender WI Counties Association
- Maureen Freedland LaCrosse County Board
- Maureen Murphy Door Co. Admin.
- Susan Kohout Door County Board District 6
- Ted Cushing Oneida County Board Chair
- Lisa Charbarneau Oneida County HR Director
- Sharon Foecey Monroe Co. supervisors
- Charles Rayala Vilas County Board Chair
- Paul Millan Forest County Chair
- Monica Groves American Family Insurance
- Ulonna Kalata Waukesha Co. Chair
- Thomas Madsen Shawno County Admin.
- Greg Olsen Langlade County
- Debra Behringer Washara Co. Admin
- Mark Harris Winnebago County
- Steve Rassmusen Dunn Co. Chair
- Russell Koltke Dodge County Chair
- Jack Meyers Green Lake County
- Rosemary Rueckert Shawano Co. Clerk
- Andy Ross Columbia county
- Kathy Groat Outogamie Co. Chair
- Gregg Moore Eau Claire County

- Ed Peterson Burnett Co.
- Jim Abrahamson Kewaunee Sup.
- James Barlow Kewaunee Co.
- Tom Snider Winnebago County
- Patrick Brennand Winnebago County Vice Chair
- Mike Norton Winnebago Co. Sup.
- Brad Karger Marathon County
- Vern Gove Columbia Co.
- Barry Pufahl Columbia County Sup.
- John Trambury Columbia County Sup.
- Daniel Makovsky Taylor County
- Rollie Thums Taylor County
- Lester Lewis Taylor County Sup.
- Linda Sinkala Kewaunee Co Sup.
- Jeffrey French Barron Co. Admin.
- Michael Chapman Menominee County
- John Patele Grant County Sup.
- Robert Lussow Lincoln Co. Chair
- James A Mille Rice Lake
- Edward Dorner Kew. Co. Admin.
- Jim Pluess Outagamie Co. Sup.
- Lee Schlenvogt Ozaukee County
- Monica Kruse La Crosse County Sup.
- Jay Schambeau Calumet County Admin.
- Robert Scallon Grant Co. Sup.
- Donald Taylor Barnett County Chair
- Richard Anderson Burnett County Supervisor
- Roger Stroets Sheboygan Co. Chair

Registrations Against

- Heather Berlinski Mayo Clinic
- Lisa Maroney UW Health
- Eric Jensen WI CMAD, ACEP
- Eric Jensen Wisconsin Psychiatric Association
- Eric Jensen WAO
- Mara Brooks WDA
- Thomas Vandenberg Schneider National
- John Murray WCA
- Tom Moore WCA
- Lynn Steffes Steffes & Associates Consulting Group, LLC
- Kip Schick WPTA
- Rob Warth Advanced Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine

- Mary Hafefnbudl Humana
- Nathan Berken Medical College of WI
- Elizabeth Cliff Kucharski Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
- Heidi Selburg Hospital Sister Health System
- Karla Ashurst Columbia St. Mary's
- Tom Howells WI Motor Carriers Association
- Connnie Schulze Wisconsin Academy Family Physicians
- Gina Dennik-Champion WNA
- Eric Tempelis Gunderson Health Systems

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Adam Gibbs Committee Clerk