Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Labor

Assembly Bill 750

March 03, 2014

Relating to: preemption of local ordinances that require employees of a local governmental unit, employees of a contractor of a local governmental unit, or employees who perform work funded by a local governmental unit to be paid at a minimum wage rate specified in the ordinance and preemption of residency requirements for laborers, workers, mechanics, and truck drivers employed on local projects of public works to which the prevailing wage law applies.

By Representative Kapenga; cosponsored by Senator Grothman.

Present:(5)Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir, Farrow,
Risser and Harris.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(0)None.

Appearances For

Public Hearing Held

- Chris Kapenga Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Sally Sprenger SHO
- Deanna Alexander Milwaukee County Board
- Pete Hanson WI Restaurant Association
- Irean Jordan
- Jim Cusack UBC
- Steve Baas MMAC

Appearances Against

- Joe Parisi Dane County Executive
- David Bowen Milwaukee County Board
- John Hendrick Dane County Board
- Dennis Ohlahan
- Roger Buffett InterFaith Coalition Worker's Justice
- Lisa Subeck Madison City Council Member
- Wayne Olson
- Joel Lewis Wausau Community, WI Jobs Now, WWOC
- Tera Brunner Advanced Employment
- Shannon Raisanen
- Sarah Dierick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Assn.
- Maureen McDonnell Interfaith Coalition for Worker Justice

- Alex Gillis Worker's United
- Andy Andre Self
- Mike Wilder WI Jobs Now
- Mark Clear Alderman City of Madison
- Linea Sundstrom Self
- Heidi Wegleitner Dane County Board
- Andrew Brenes United Cerebral Palsy
- Carousel Byrd Self
- Leland Pan Madison City Council
- Monique McKinney
- Amanda Keller
- Jennifer Epps-Addison WI Jobs Now
- Kelley Albrecht Self
- Landon Davis Self
- Bonnie Margulis Rabbi Wisconsin Faith Voices for Justice
- Becky Schigiel ICWS
- Patrick Hickey Self
- Richard Russell Self
- Margan Smith Advanced Employment
- Matty O'Dea Wisconsin Anarchists
- Kevin Walker Orion Security
- Carolyn Castore Citizen Action of WI
- Peter Rickman WI Jobs Now
- Rosalyn Wolfe

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Gerhard Luetsdower Self
- Bill Smith NFIB

Registrations Against

- Jamie Harris
- Marjorie Kipron
- Shawn Schey
- George Scheiffer
- Angela Pendley
- Marcus Robinson
- Roshi Lawrence
- Dakota Hall United Council of UW Students
- Melissa Sargent Representative 48th Assembly District

- Craig Myrton
- Matthew Zimmerman WI Jobs Now
- Devoute Yates
- Todd Schmitz
- Christophe Adell
- Bill Martin WI Jobs Now
- Willie Mae Thomas
- Martha Pincus
- Maureen Dunn
- Cornelius Martin
- Karen Royston
- Sarah Wagner
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Carlos Miranda Self
- Tom Millonzi Teamsters Local 200
- Kevin Gundlach South Central Federation of Labor
- Jennifer Gonda City of Milwaukee
- Darold Lowe Self
- Gretchen Lowe Self
- Sonja Luetschwager Self
- James Jensen Self
- Cody Misidk Madison Workers Organization Committee
- Denise Lowe Self
- Morrow James Self
- Christine Sinicki Rep. 20th Assembly District
- Mary MoKclar Self
- Paulette Harper Self
- Genie Ogden Self
- Will Gruber Self
- LJ Prip Self
- Andy Olsen Self
- Marina Dimitrijevic Milwaukee County Board, Chair
- Kyle Richmond Dan County Board
- Chris Taylor Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Nneka Akubeze Self
- Putneir Hammil Self
- Christine Taylor Self
- Samatha Masterton Self
- Diane Hesselbein Representative 79th Assembly District
- Judith Detert-Moriarty Self

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 06, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir, Farrow,
		Risser and Harris.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Risser, seconded by Senator Harris that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(2)	Senators Risser and Harris.
Noes:	(3)	Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir and Farrow.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Grothman, seconded by Senator Farrow that **Assembly Bill 750** be recommended for concurrence.

- Ayes: (3) Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir and Farrow.
- Noes: (2) Senators Risser and Harris.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Adam Gibbs Committee Clerk