Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Human Services

Assembly Bill 120

Relating to: inadmissibility of a statement of apology or condolence by a health care provider.

By Representatives Severson, Nygren, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Czaja, Honadel, Jacque, Kaufert, Kestell, Kleefisch, Knodl, LeMahieu, Marklein, Murphy, Nass, A. Ott, Petersen, Pridemore, Schraa, Stone, Strachota, Tittl, Craig and Ballweg; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, Cowles and Farrow.

March 06, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton, Lazich,

Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Senator Leah Vukmir - 5th Senate District

- Representative Erik Severson 28th Assembly District
- Norm Jensen Dr. Wisconsin Medical Society
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society

Appearances Against

- Joe Troy Wisconsin State Bar Association
- Pati Epstein Wisconsin State Bar Association
- Ann Jacobs Wisconsin Association for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Anna Legreid Dopp Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
- Kyle O'Brien Wisconsin Hospital Association
- Andrew Gustafson Dean Health System
- Ryan Natzke Marshfield Clinic
- Jason Culotta WMC
- Forbes McIntosh WI Assisted Living Association
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Association
- Forbes McIntosh Residential Services Association of WI
- Tom Ramsey Leading Age of Wisconsin

- Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association
- Jim McGinn WI Health Care Association
- Mara Brooks WI Dental Association
- Jeremy Levin Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
- Jerry Halverson Dr. WI Psychiatric Association
- Connie Schulze WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Andrew Cook Wisconsin Civil Justice Council
- Debbie Bernstein Dr. Wisconsin Academy of Opthamology
- Howard Croft Dr. WI Chapter, ACEP
- Rose Campise-Luther Dr. WI Society of Anesthesiologists
- Tony Driessen Wisconsin Society of Podiatric Medicine
- Tony Driessen ThedaCare
- Wendy Coomer Aurora Health Care

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 07, 2014 **Executive Session Held by PAPER BALLOT**; pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4)(am)

Present: (5) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton, Lazich,

Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

That **Assembly Bill 120** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (3) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton and

Lazich.

Noes: (2) Senators Erpenbach and Carpenter.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Dean Cady Committee Clerk