Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

Senate Bill 566

Relating to: state 911 telecommunications services, police and fire protection fee imposed on certain communications services, granting rule-making authority, and making appropriations.

By Senators Leibham, Gudex, L. Taylor, Harsdorf, Lazich, Lassa, Lehman, Tiffany and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Tittl, Schraa, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bies, Doyle, Endsley, Hintz, Kaufert, Kestell, Kleefisch, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Murphy, A. Ott, Petryk, Ripp, Shankland, Smith, Swearingen and Weatherston.

February 05, 2014 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

March 05, 2014 Public Hearing Held

| Present: | (7) | Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, |
|----------|-----|--|
| | | Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Joe Leibham Senator 9th Senate District
- Paul Tittl Representative 25th Assembly District
- Brent Oleson Sheriff Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Shelby Schmidt WI-NENA
- Peggy Feider Sheboygan County
- Keith Kesler Douglass County 911
- Jan Victorson Bayfield County
- Dale Wiegand Door County
- Tim Herlache City of Sturgeon Bay
- John Dejung APCO/NENA of Wisconsin
- Peter Kammer Wisconsin Telecommunications Association
- Patrick Fucik Sprint
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association
- Nicole Hudzinski American Heart Association

Appearances Against

- Doug Pettit Chief Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Eric Haar Trempealeau County Emergency Management
- Cullen Peltier Brown County Public Safety

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Bob Welch N'Sight
- Tim Ullman Door County
- Kathryn Schauf Sauk County
- Matt Phillips Verizon Wireless
- Lorenzo Cruz Century Link
- Jay Loeffler LaCrosse County Emergency Services
- Tom Genthner Kenosha Joint Service
- Michael Blodgett Kenosha Joint Services
- Joshua Nielsen Kenosha Joint Services
- Chris Kunkle TW Telecom
- Michael Welsh U.S. Cellular
- Drew Petersen TDS
- Tom Fonfara T-Mobile

Registrations Against

- Tom Frank Chief Cedarburg Police Department
- Peter Hoell Chief Village of Germantown
- Dennis Nosei Chief Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Jennifer Gonda City of Milwaukee

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Scott Rausch Committee Clerk