Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

Senate Bill 71

Relating to: limiting the regulation of wind energy systems by local governments. By Senators Lasee, Ellis, Leibham, Grothman and Moulton; cosponsored by Representatives Jacque, Murtha, Bies, Endsley, Kestell, Klenke, Knudson, LeMahieu, Spiros and Thiesfeldt.

March 08, 2013 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

March 13, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Farrow; Senators Lasee, Kedzie,

Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Gudex.

Appearances For

- Frank Lasee Senator 1st Senate District
- Alyssa Ashley
- Andre Jacque Representative 2nd Assembly District
- Rick Stadelman Wisconsin Towns Association
- Chuck Schneider Town of Brothertown Calumet County
- Jeffrey Bump
- Cindy Kuscienko The Forest Voice
- Bob Welsh CWEST
- Jerry Leick
- Michele Leick
- Bill Goehring Town of Sherman
- Sandra Johnson BCCRWE
- Carl Johnson
- John Hays
- Ervin Selk
- Mitchell Fisher
- James Pulvermacher Town of Springfield
- Jaime Junker Town of Forest
- Timothy Harmann Town of Morrison
- Laurie Werner
- Curt Hilgenberg

- Robert Smurawa
- Joseph Meulemans
- Larry Lamont
- James Mueller Town of Marshfield
- Darlene Mueller Town of Marshfield
- Bernie Petrie Town of Marshfield
- Elizabeth Ebertz
- Kevin Kawula
- Donavon Mitchell Town of Magnolia
- Glen Schwalbach
- Darrel Cappelle
- Sarah Cappelle
- Marilyn Nies Brown County
- Steve Deslauriers
- Jim Vanden Boogart
- Barbara Vanden Boogart
- Dean Anhalt
- Joseph Yunk
- Lee Stefaniak

Appearances Against

- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Tyson Cook Clean Wisconsin
- Chris Kunkle Wisconsin Energy Business Association
- Michael Vickerman RENEW Wisconsin
- Caryl Terrell Sierra Club John Muir Chapter
- Robert Owen

Appearances for Information Only

- Kristen Ruesch Public Service Commission
- Deb Erwin Public Service Commission

Registrations For

- John Murtha Representative 29th Assembly District
- Dan LeMahieu Representative 59th Assembly District
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Liz Stephens Wisconsin Counties Association
- David Schmidt
- Lynda Kawula
- Diane Hoerth
- Joan Mitchell
- Fred Werner
- David Harmeling

- Ruth Harmeling
- Carol Lee Selk
- Bruce Wagner
- Gregory Brandt
- Mary Brandt
- Tim Roehl Town of Middleton
- Rick Loppnow Town of Glenmore
- Annette Olson
- Joe Bauer
- Carol Bauer
- Debra Heil
- John Heil

Registrations Against

- Matt Bromley Customers First Coalition
- Charlie Higley Citizens Utility Board
- Nathan Berken Next Era Energy Resources
- Genie Ogden
- Nathan Franklin Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Christine Taylor
- Whitney Steffen
- Caryl Terrell League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Chris Deisinger
- Mitchell Wassbaum
- Pete Christianson General Electric Corporation
- Mary Maradik
- Shahla Werner
- Elizabeth Ward
- Randy Radtke American Lung Association in Wisconsin
- Megan Severson
- Dona Wininsky American Lung Association
- Irving Smith
- Gary Haltaufderheide
- Roger Thimm Wondra Construction, Inc.
- Wes Slaymaker WES Engineering, Inc.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Scott Rausch Committee Clerk