Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

Assembly Joint Resolution 81

Relating to: application to Congress under the provisions of Article V of the Constitution of the United States for a convention for proposing amendments relating to a balanced budget.

By Representatives Kapenga, August, Ballweg, Bernier, Bies, Born, Craig, Czaja, Endsley, Hutton, Jagler, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knodl, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Neylon, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pridemore, Ripp, Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Severson, Skowronski, Spiros, Steineke, Strachota, Stroebel, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Vos, Weatherston and Weininger; cosponsored by Senators Farrow, Darling, Ellis, Gudex, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Lasee, Lazich, Leibham, Moulton, Olsen, Tiffany and Vukmir.

March 05, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee,

Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Chris Kapenga Representative 99th Assembly District
- Steven Gillespie I Am American
- Mike Thomas
- Time Dake Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty
- Norm Reynolds Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Paul Farrow Senator 33rd Senate District
- Philip Hoyer Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty
- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

James Bartkowski - Wisconsin Grandsons of Liberty

Registrations Against

- Sabrina Gentile WI Council on Children and Families
- Genie Ogden

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 10, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee,

Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Assembly Joint Resolution 81** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (4) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee and Kedzie.

Noes: (3) Senators Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

Scott Rausch Committee Clerk