Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

Senate Bill 196

Relating to: restricting the use of drones and providing a penalty. By Senators Petrowski, Erpenbach, Risser, Grothman, Hansen, Schultz and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives August, Kessler, Craig, C. Taylor, Ballweg, Berceau, Born, Czaja, Hebl, Kestell, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Murtha, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Pope, Sanfelippo, Shankland, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl and Tranel.

May 23, 2013 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

January 15, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee,

Kedzie, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Wirch.

Appearances For

- Jerry Petrowski Senator 29th Senate District
- Tyler August Representative 32nd Assembly District
- Fred Kessler Senator 12 Assembly District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Don Nelson - University of Wisconsin - Madison

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• J.B. Van Hollen - Attorney General - Wisconsin Department of Justice

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 13, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Gudex, seconded by Senator Shilling that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Shilling, seconded by Senator Wirch that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Gudex, seconded by Senator Shilling that **Senate Bill 196** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Scott Rausch Committee Clerk