## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Elections and Urban Affairs**

#### Senate Bill 95

Relating to: changing the compensation structure by which a Milwaukee County supervisor may be paid, changing the term length of a Milwaukee County supervisor, affecting the right of an annuitant under the Milwaukee County Employee's Retirement System to be rehired by Milwaukee County, limiting the authority of Milwaukee County to enter into certain intergovernmental agreements, removing and clarifying some authority of the Milwaukee County board, increasing and clarifying the authority of the Milwaukee County executive, deleting obsolete statutory references, and requiring a referendum. By Senators Darling, L. Taylor, Vukmir, Lazich and Farrow; cosponsored by Representatives Sanfelippo, Kooyenga, Hutton, Craig, Kuglitsch, Knodl, Stone, J. Ott, Honadel, Pridemore, Weatherston, Stroebel, Brooks, LeMahieu, Bernier and Tittl.

March 22, 02013 Referred to Elections and Urban Affairs

#### April 24, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L.

Taylor and Miller.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Alberta Darling Sen.
- Joe Sanfelippo Rep.
- Chris Abele Milwaukee County Executive
- Rich Meeusen Badger Meter
- Deanna Alexander Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Julia Taylor Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Brian Schupper Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Dan Cody
- Jorge Franco Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin
- Orville Seymer CRG Network
- Jeremy Nyklewicz
- Joseph Rice
- Dagobertu Iberre
- Pamela Carlson
- William Bratsprecher
- Enlyn O'Grady

### Appearances Against

- Marina Dimitrijevid Chairwoman Milwaukee County Board
- Tim Carpenter Sen. 3rd Senate District
- Theo Lipscomb Sr. Supervisor Milwaukee County Bard
- David Cullen Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Mike Blaska WI Counties Association
- Mary Laan Move to Amend of SE Wisconsin
- Angela Walker
- John Pokrandt
- Chris Rockwood
- Linea Sundstrom
- Keith Crum

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Natalia Bonilla Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin
- Leah Vukmir Sen. 5th Senate District

#### Registrations Against

- Mark Wadium Outagamie County
- Dennis O'Loughlin Dane County Board
- Chris Larson Sen.
- Dave Hansen Sen. 30th Senate District
- Glenda McMiller
- Frank Dragotta
- Maliek no last name given
- David Reimer Rep.
- Josh Zepnick Rep.
- LaTonya Johnson Rep. 17th Assembly District
- Tara Johnson
- JoCasta Zamarripo Rep.
- Christine Sinicki Rep. Assembly District 20
- Melissa Sargent Rep. 48th Assembly District
- Sandy Pasch Rep.
- Willie Brisco MICAH
- Mike Ehr
- Russell Stamper
- Macon James
- Kualif Quincy
- Mike Wilder

- Willie Johnson
- David Bower
- James Ito
- Mary Laan
- Bob Burkart-Lemke
- John Pokrandt
- Philip Blank
- Mary O'Connell Williams
- Dale Noow
- Kathy Muluey
- Craig Wentzel
- Sandy Zellraer
- Chris Rockwood
- Tom Loviuus
- Brandy Gillery
- Willie Brisco
- Alan Nichols
- Jason Haas
- Mickey Kennedy
- Ann Griffin
- Paul Geippe
- Angela Walker
- Denise Lowe
- Jance Echols
- Alex Hansen Jr
- Scott Gyman
- Jarit Wakefield
- Jimmy Coleman
- Joyce Jordan
- Ilene Ehr
- Richard Ohly
- Jada Carter
- Jason Haas
- Virginia Siehr
- Ron Andersen
- Izetta Hall
- Joan Zeiger
- Donna Meizcer
- Donna Meizcer
- Gloria Yelozyn
- Lindsey Clark
- Frank Mulvey
- James Balk
- Peter Abbott

- Jim Gordon
- Sadie Daers
- **Tracey Dent**
- Lititia Minor
- Jane Mohr
- Carrie Manson
- Gloria Ryan
- Deborah Haywost

#### Registrations for Information Only

Casper Green

#### May 08, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L. (5)

Taylor and Miller.

Absent: (0)None. Excused: (0)None.

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Lasee that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L. Ayes: (5)

Taylor and Miller.

Noes: (0)None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Leibham that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

> Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L. Ayes: (5) Taylor and Miller.

Noes: (0)None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Leibham that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

> Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L. Ayes: (5) Taylor and Miller.

Noes: (0)None.

# SENATE AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Lasee that **Senate Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham, Lasee, L. Taylor and Miller.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Lasee, seconded by Senator Leibham that **Senate Bill 95** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Lazich; Senators Leibham and Lasee.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 0

Tricia Sieg

Committee Clerk