Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 619

Relating to: creating a model academic standards board.

By Senators Vukmir, Farrow, Lazich, Leibham, Grothman and Tiffany; cosponsored by Representatives Thiesfeldt, Nass, Knudson, J. Ott, Tauchen, Spiros, Knodl, Jagler, Pridemore, Schraa, Hutton, Murphy, Sanfelippo and Kulp.

February 18, 2014 Referred to Committee on Education

March 06, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Olsen; Senators Farrow, Darling,

Vukmir, Gudex, Lehman, T. Cullen, Harris and

Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jeremy Thiesfeldt Representative
- Leah Vukmir Senator
- Paul Farrow Senator
- Juliane Appling Wisconsin Family Action
- Tracy Rath
- Joe Garza School District of New Berlin
- Ed Perkins
- Felice McKnight
- Jennifer Heenan
- Ruth Elmer
- Tobey Neuberger
- Leon Hebert
- Robert Wagner
- Jim Scott
- Craig Dedo
- Sandra Ruggles Eagle Forum
- Vince Schmuer
- Kaila Haws
- Mark Wulff
- Barbara Duff
- Robin Moore
- Kari Schulte
- Kathy Grasse

- Carol Holterman
- Andy Dopuch
- Paul Lembruch

Appearances Against

- Kris Gilmore DC Everest School District
- Jennifer Cheatham Madison Metropolitan School District
- JoAnn Sternke Pewaukee School District
- Aaron Sadoff North Fond du Lac School District
- Richard Melcher
- Michelle Langenfeld Green Bay Public School District
- Jeanne Williams Teacher Education
- Mike Thompson Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Sheila Briggs Department of Public Instruction
- Shelley Weiss Military Chilren Wisconsin Council ofr Interstate Compact for the Education of Military Children
- John Hendricks Council on Military Children
- Amy Sherman-Kortbein
- Michael Steele Dr UW Milwaukee
- Betty DeBoer Wisconsin Association of School Psychologists
- Jennifer Metzer Kettle Moraine School District
- Ellen Lundgren
- Jerry Fiene
- Mary Arnold Columbus School Board Member
- Karl Dommershausen Janesville School Board Member
- Maureen May-Grimm
- Terry Kaldhusdal Teacher at Kettle Moraine
- Colin Butler Kettle Moraine School District
- Don Johnson Middleton Cross Plains Area Schools
- Crystal Rozicka
- Todd Alan Price Director of Leadership and Specialized Roles National Louis University
- Jeff Ziegler
- Briana Schuabenbauer
- Richard Askey

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Wanda Graham
- Sandra Voss

- Billy Neuberger
- Paul Lerndrick
- Steve Nass Representative
- Jeff Weyker
- Lisa Robinson
- William Lichter
- Tamra Varebrook
- Scott Frostman
- Oliver Burrows
- H. Ann Kowalczyk
- Van Wanggaard
- Theresa Zoesch

Registrations Against

- Jim Burgess
- Joyce Chekouras Citizen Climate Lobby TNT Action Group
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Ann Schoenberger
- Jayne Gohr
- Deb DesJardins
- Phillip Gohr
- Lana Raffansperger
- David Botz
- Steve Tenpas Deforest Area School Board
- Ty Maki School District of New Holstein
- William Von Meer New Holstein School District
- Tina Van Meer Gibraltar School District
- Chris Vander Heyden Menasha Joint School District
- Shelly Muza Menasha Joint School District
- Joyann Eggert
- David Howish Lena Public School District
- Bob Mayfield Kimberly Area School District
- Damian LaCroix Howard Suamico School District
- Kevin Bruggink Oostburg School District
- Blake Pense Northern Ozaukee School District
- Cheryl Gullicksrud School District of Mondovi
- Nancy Welch Algoma
- Ronald Welch Algoma Public Schools and Community
- Paul Janson
- Rachel Schultz Richland Schools
- Terrence Ristock
- Lee Allinger
- Becky Walker Appleton Area School District

- Nan Bunnow Appleton Area School District
- Brian Grove School District of Wisconsin Dells
- Jeremy Biehl CESA 5
- Joseph Price CESA #3
- Gus Knitt Pardeeville School District
- Sara Norton Fontana Jt8 School District
- Mark Olson Richland School District
- David Guy Richland School District
- Sandra Mountain School District of Random Lake
- Mary Lofy School District of Sheboygan Falls
- Connie Hacssly
- Andrew Briddell
- Dan Olson Monona Grove School District
- Jennifer Ganske
- Paul Fischer School District of ACHM
- Brad Rogers Alma Center Humbird Merrillan Schools
- Bernard Nikolay Cambridge School Disrict
- Steven Huebbe Randolph School District
- Richard Flaherty
- Machell Schwarz
- Terry Reynolds Pittsville School District
- Lynee Tourdot School District of Beloit
- Thomas Johansen DC Everest School District
- Steve Pophal SAA
- Ron Foreman DC Everest School District
- Brad Boll Beloit Turner
- Dennis McCarthy Dr School District of Beloit Turner
- Lois Alt DC Everest School District
- Dennis Pauli
- Brian Hanes
- Steven Shaw Cedar Grove Schools
- Dana McLinn Two Rivers
- Richard Nitsch Two Rivers Public Schools
- Lisa Quistorf Two Rivers Public Schools
- Steven Boss
- Patricia Ellsworth Tomah Area School District
- Michelle Clark Tomah Area Schools
- Randy Nelson School District of La Crosse
- Regan Schmidt Sharon Community School
- Lillian Henderson Sharon Jt. 11
- Rob Tyvoll School District of La Crosse
- Troy Harcey Dr School District of La Crosse
- Kristin Mueller School District of La Crosse
- Cindy Zahrte Tomah Area School District

- Susan Borden Dr DASD
- John Humphries Wisconsin School Psychologists
- Kathy Champeau WSRA
- Cheryl Ward WI Reading Coalition
- Sandra Kovatch Hudson School District
- Arma Van Blyenburgh Purdy
- Theresa Gennerman Kettle Moraine School District
- Greg Nyen Wisconsin Council of Administrators in Special Services
- Anne Marie William
- David Anderson Chaquamegon School District
- Gale Gerharz Wisconsin State Reading Association
- Daniela Stuckey Watertown Unified School District
- Cassandra Schug Watertown Unified School District
- Dan Jones
- Briana Schwaberbauer
- Linda Myers
- Dave Polashek Oconto Falls School District
- Terri Phillips Southeastern Wisconsin School Alliance
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Dominick Madison Brillion Schools
- Eric Vanden Heuvel Pulaski School District
- Jennifer Gracyalay
- Marc Klawitter Pulaski School
- Rebecca Kurzynske Oconto Falls Public Schools
- Ronald Boetiuter Adams-Friendship Area School District
- Chris Kopinski
- Kent Hall
- Mark Landis
- Barbara Sramak Marshall Public Schools
- Daniel Riemer Representative
- Carrie Buss

Registrations for Information Only

• Sean Roberts - Milwaukee Charter School Advocates

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Sarah Archibald Committee Clerk