Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Economic Development and Local Government

Assembly Bill 598

Relating to: changing the method for charging interest that may be charged on special assessments and changing the interest rate paid on claims for certain unlawfully assessed property taxes and creating an exception for local levy limits.

By Representatives Steineke, Kahl, Bernier, Bies, Ohnstad, Ripp and Petryk; cosponsored by Senator Petrowski.

February 19, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Gudex; Senators Petrowski, Leibham,

Lassa and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Jim Steineke Representative State Assembly
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

Kyle O'Brien - WI Hospitals Association

Registrations For

- Eileen Nickels Platteville City Council
- Cindy Cerley City of Darlington
- Jerome Wehule City of Laucaster
- Tom Larson NAIOP-WI
- Barbara Dalls City of Platteville
- Larry Bierke City of Platteville
- David Breunig City of Darlington
- Gene Rosin Mayor City of Kaukauna
- Larry VanFrachen City of Brillion
- Jerry Petrowski Senator State Senate
- Alan Kupsik City of Lake Geneva
- Larry Arft City of Beloit
- Mark Spreitzer City of Beloit
- Jim VanDeBorent City of Beloit

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 05, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Gudex; Senators Petrowski, Leibham,

Lassa and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Lassa that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Gudex; Senators Petrowski,

Leibham, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Lassa that **Assembly Bill 598** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Gudex; Senators Petrowski,

Leibham, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes $\boldsymbol{0}$

_____ Tim Lakin

Committee Clerk