## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism

#### Senate Bill 301

Relating to: changes to the local room tax.

By Senators Olsen, Cowles, Gudex, Hansen, Harsdorf, Lasee, Lehman and Tiffany; cosponsored by Representatives Bies, Ballweg, Brooks, Clark, Genrich, Kleefisch, Mursau, Murtha, A. Ott, Petersen, Swearingen and Thiesfeldt.

September 18, 2013 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism

### February 12, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Schultz, Vinehout, Hansen, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Luther Olsen Senator 14th Senate District
- Gary Bies Representative 1st Assembly District
- Tricia Pugal Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Lola Roeh Osthoff Resort
- Robert Dove BW Premier Bridgewood Hotel
- Aaron Wolf Comfort Suites Green Bay
- Adam Wolf Holiday Inn Express Green Bay
- Jeff Anderson Waupaca Area Chamber of Commerce
- Daniel Schetter Best Western Premier Waterfront Hotel
  Oshkosh
- Gerry Gadke Best Western Arrowhead Lodge and Suites
- Julia Hertel Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus
- Brad Toll Green Bay Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Kevin Gallagher Marcus Hotels and Resorts
- Craig Molitor Fond du Lac Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Tom Price

#### Appearances Against

• Steve Ponto - Mayor - City of Brookfield

- Dan Ertl City of Brookfield
- Larry MacDonald Mayor City of Bayfield
- Dennis Jordan City of Lake Geneva
- Alan Kupsik City of Lake Geneva
- Nick Zavos City of Madison
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

### Registrations For

- Kathleen Seeberg Walworth County Visitors Bureau
- Andrew Haar Baymont Inn and Suites Madison West
- Sarah Batrenwald Comfort Suites Madison West
- Shawn Jaremko Greater Milwaukee Hotel and Lodging Association
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Pete Hanson Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Pete Madland Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Rob Summerfield Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Michael Goril Gorilla Enterprises, LLC
- Randy Harden
- Henry Wozniel
- Rob McConnell
- Christine Rebout
- Jason Ring Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus
- Mary Hirvela Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus
- Craig Molitor
- Paul Holley Real Racine
- Melissa Sobel Stevens Point Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Sara Brish Stevens Point Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Tammie Carstensen Harbor Shores and Lake Geneva Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Darien Schaeffer Lake Geneva Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Dave Blank Real Racine
- Pat Osborne Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitor Bureaus

# Registrations Against

- Robert Miller Mayor City of Burlington
- Mark Clear Alderman City of Madison
- Lisa Subeck Alderman City of Madison
- Forbes McIntosh Dane County Cities and Villages Association

# Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Scott Nelson

Committee Clerk