Senate Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism

Senate Bill 448

Relating to: the sales and use tax exemption for equipment used in a fertilizer blending, feed milling, or grain drying operation.

By Senators Moulton, Shilling, Harsdorf, Grothman and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Nerison, Kulp, Tauchen, A. Ott, Vruwink, Mursau, Ripp, Marklein, Brooks, Ballweg, Petryk, Murphy, Jacque and Spiros.

December 17, 2013 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism

January 30, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Schultz, Vinehout, Hansen, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Lee Nerison Representative 96th Assembly District
- Tom Bressner Wisconsin Agri-Business Association
- Thomas Hoffman Central Wisconsin Cooperative

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Nate Ristow - Wisconsin Department of Revenue

Registrations For

- Steve Hanvold Agventures, LLC
- Tim Bauer Deer Creek Seed
- Jon Accola Premier Cooperative
- Timothy Hoyt Monsanto Company
- Erik Huschitt Badger State Ethanol
- Joey Kennicker Greg's Feed and Seed, Inc
- Guy Mathias AG Systems, Inc.
- Stanley McGraw Vita Plus, Inc.
- Larry Fiene Land O'Lakes
- Kathy Dummer Self-Buck Country Grain
- Marc Powell Hanna Ag, LLC

- Bruce Anderson Bio-Gro, Inc.
- Mike Mleziva AgVentures, LLC
- David DeLong The DeLong Company, Inc.
- Lee Craigo Graigo Grain
- Shawn Pfaff Wisconsin Agri-Business Association
- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- David Ward Cooperative Network
- John Manske Cooperative Network
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Ron Kuehn Wisconsin Pork Association
- Amy Winters Golden Plump Poultry

Registrations Against

• Kyle Christianson - Wisconsin Counties Association

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 13, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Schultz, Vinehout, Hansen, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Moulton, seconded by Senator Tiffany that **Senate Bill 448** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Senator Moulton; Senators Tiffany, Harsdorf, Petrowski, Schultz, Vinehout, Hansen, Lassa and L. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Scott Nelson Committee Clerk