Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 668

Relating to: providing grants to counties that offer substance abuse treatment and diversion from incarceration and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Nygren, Bies, Ballweg, Bernier, Born, Brooks, Endsley, Kaufert, Kleefisch, Knudson, Kooyenga, Krug, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Murphy, Mursau, A. Ott, Petryk, Schraa, Spiros, Strachota, Tranel, Weatherston, Barnes, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Billings, Clark, Doyle, Goyke, Hesselbein, Hintz, Johnson, Kahl, Kolste, Mason, Ohnstad, Pasch, Riemer, Richards, Ringhand, C. Taylor, Wachs, Wright and Young; cosponsored by Senators Darling, S. Fitzgerald, Cowles, Gudex, Harsdorf, Leibham, Olsen, Petrowski,

Carpenter, Harris, Jauch, Shilling, L. Taylor, Vinehout, Wirch and Lehman.

January 24, 2014 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

February 19, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Leibham, Lazich, Grothman, Shilling and Wirch; Representatives Strachota, Kooyenga, Knudson, LeMahieu, Klenke, Mason and Richards.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

None.

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Kyle Christiason WI Counties Assoc.
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County
- Liz Buchen Lutheran Social Services Agency
- Eric Peterson Milwaukee County
- J.P. Van Hollen Attorney General WI DOJ

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 19, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (16) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;

Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Leibham, Lazich, Grothman, Shilling and Wirch; Representatives Strachota, Kooyenga, Knudson, LeMahieu,

Klenke, Mason and Richards.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Mason that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Leibham, Lazich, Grothman, Shilling and Wirch; Representatives Strachota, Knudson, LeMahieu, Klenke, Mason and Richards.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Kooyenga.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Mason that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senators Shilling and Wirch; Representatives Mason and Richards.

Noes: (11) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren;

Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Leibham, Lazich and Grothman; Representatives Strachota,

Knudson, LeMahieu and Klenke.

Absent: (1) Representative Kooyenga.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 11

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Senator Darling that **Assembly Bill 668** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Senator Darling; Representative Nygren; Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Leibham, Lazich, Grothman, Shilling and Wirch; Representatives Strachota, Knudson, LeMahieu, Klenke, Mason and Richards.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Kooyenga.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk