# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 438**

Relating to: the sales and use tax exemption for aircraft parts, maintenance, and labor

By Representatives Steineke, Kaufert, Hintz, Sinicki, Murphy, Kahl, Bies, A. Ott, Bernard Schaber, Pridemore, Sanfelippo, Kuglitsch, Tittl, Ohnstad, Wachs, Bernier and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Ellis, Lasee, Gudex, Cowles, Grothman and Farrow.

October 17, 2013 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

## November 21, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Marklein; Representatives Ripp, Spiros, Kestell, Riemer, Hulsey, Barnes and Genrich.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kerkman.

#### Appearances For

- Jim Steineke State Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Mike Ellis State Senator Wisconsin State Senate
- Dean Kaufert State Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Tiony Yaron Central Wisconsin Airport
- Bryan Budds Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association
- Paul Boucher Cessna Aircraft
- Greg Laabs Gulstream Aerospace
- Jonathan Harger Experimental Aircraft Association
- Bruce Botterman Newview Technologies, Inc.
- Jeff Baum Wisconsin Aviation
- Abe Weber Outagamie County
- Kurt Stanich Waukesha County Airport
- Sarah Spaeth Waukesha County Airport
- Jason Culotta Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

#### Appearances Against

None.

### **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Gordon Hintz State Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Christine Sinicki State Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Steve Baas Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce
- Charles Swain Beaver Aviation
- Jeff Toline Gulfstream Aerospace
- Druanne Pierce Plane Safe Aircraft
- David Neiman Flyer Publications Inc.
- Chris Abele County Executive Milwaukee County

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

## February 06, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (10) Representative Marklein; Representatives Kerkman, Spiros, Kestell, Kulp, Skowronski,

Riemer, Hulsey, Barnes and Genrich.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Ripp.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 438** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Marklein; Representatives Kerkman, Spiros, Kestell, Kulp,

Skowronski, Riemer, Hulsey, Barnes and

Genrich.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Ripp.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Crystal Potts Committee Clerk