Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans

Assembly Bill 166

Relating to: creating an individual income tax exemption for military income received by active duty members of the U.S. armed forces who die in a combat zone.

By Representatives Born, Jagler, Bernier, Brooks, Craig, Czaja, Endsley, Hesselbein, Honadel, Jacque, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kestell, Kleefisch, Kolste, T. Larson, Marklein, Murphy, Nass, Ohnstad, Petersen, Petryk, Pridemore, Ripp, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Spiros, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Weatherston, Bies and Suder; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Darling, Grothman, Gudex, Lasse, Lassa, Lazich and Tiffany.

April 25, 02013 Referred to Committee on Veterans

May 09, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Weatherston, Suder, Bies, Endsley, Nerison,
Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Ringhand, Milroy,
Sinicki, Vruwink, Hesselbein and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tittl.

Appearances For

- Mark Born Representative 39th Assembly District
- Andrew Johnson
- Laura Johnson

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jerry Petrowski Senator
- Mike Furgal VFW
- Domingo Leguizamon WI DVA
- Thomas Gomach DAV

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 09, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15)Representative Petryk; Representatives

> Weatherston, Suder, Bies, Endsley, Nerison, Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Ringhand, Milroy,

Sinicki, Vruwink, Hesselbein and Goyke.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tittl.

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Hesselbein that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives Ayes: Weatherston, Suder, Bies, Endsley, Nerison, Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Ringhand, Milroy, Sinicki, Vruwink, Hesselbein and

> > Goyke.

Noes: (0)None.

Representative Tittl. Absent: (1)

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Pridemore, seconded by Representative Hesselbein that **Assembly Bill 166** be recommended for passage as amended.

> (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives Ayes: Weatherston, Suder, Bies, Endsley, Nerison, Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Ringhand, Milroy, Sinicki, Vruwink, Hesselbein and

Goyke.

Noes: (0)None.

Representative Tittl. Absent: (1)

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Aves 15, Noes 0

Marcie Malszycki Committee Clerk