Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans

Assembly Bill 734

Relating to: powers and duties of the board of veterans affairs; reimbursement of veterans' tuition at tribal colleges; documentation for eligibility to veterans homes; operation of veterans homes; eligibility and procedural requirements for veterans home loans, veterans personal loans, county veterans service grants, and American Indian veterans grants; and funeral honors, burial, and disinterment of veterans.

By Representatives Petryk, Ringhand, LeMahieu, Weatherston, Krug, Skowronski, Kolste, Czaja, Sinicki, Pridemore, A. Ott, Endsley, Spiros, Smith, Wright, Brooks and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski and Lehman.

February 06, 2014 Referred to Committee on Veterans

February 12, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (16) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Weatherston, Bies, Endsley, Nerison,
Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Tittl, Skowronski,
Ringhand, Milroy, Sinicki, Vruwink,
Hesselbein and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Warren Petryk State Assembly
- Kathy Marschman WDVA
- Jason Johns VFW & The Military Order of Purple Heart

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Jerry Petrowski Senator WI State Senate
- Al Labelle Disabled American Veterans
- Mike Furgal VFW
- Roger Fetterly Military Officers Association of America

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 12, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (16) Representative Petryk; Representatives

Weatherston, Bies, Endsley, Nerison,

Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Tittl, Skowronski,

Ringhand, Milroy, Sinicki, Vruwink,

Hesselbein and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 734** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Weatherston, Bies, Endsley, Nerison,

Pridemore, Brooks, J. Ott, Tittl, Skowronski, Ringhand, Milroy, Sinicki and Hesselbein.

Noes: (2) Representatives Vruwink and Goyke.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 2

Marcie Rainbolt Committee Clerk