# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

#### **Assembly Bill 389**

Relating to: the maximum speed limit on freeways and expressways.

By Representatives Tittl, Thiesfeldt, August, Nygren, Milroy, Petersen, Weatherston, Murphy, Stroebel, Czaja, Jagler, Pridemore, Jacque, Nass, Sanfelippo, Craig, LeMahieu, Kerkman, Schraa, Kapenga, Knudson and Ripp; cosponsored by Senators Grothman and Lazich.

September 23, 02013 Referred to Committee on Transportation

## October 01, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Sanfelippo,

Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and

Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Spiros, Endsley, T. Larson and Doyle.

# Appearances For

- Paul Tittl Senator
- Gary Biller National Motorists Association
- Will Sandstrom Dr.

#### **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

### **Registrations For**

None.

### Registrations Against

None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

#### October 08, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott,

Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber,

Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sanfelippo, seconded by Representative Stone that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(15) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Noes:	(0) None.
ASSEMBLY 15, Noes 0	SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes
	epresentative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Doyle that mendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for
Ayes:	(7) Representatives Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Noes:	(8) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson and Stone.
	AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 8
	epresentative Sanfelippo, seconded by Representative Stone that <b>Assembly</b> ecommended for passage as amended.
Ayes:	(9) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Stone and Kolste.
Noes:	(6) Representatives Spiros, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Doyle, Danou and Riemer.
PASSAGE A	AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6
	Elisabeth Portz
	Committee Clerk