Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 829

Relating to: suspension of operating privilege for failure to pay monetary judgment.

By Representatives Bies, Mason and Pasch; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Harris, Petrowski and Risser.

March 04, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley,
T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber,
Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Garey Bies Representative
- Nichole Todd Wisconsin Community Services
- James Gramling Center for Driver's License Recovery
- Molly Gena Legal Action of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

- John Peterson Village of Walworth Municipal Court
- Richard Ginkowski Judge Pleasant Prairie Municipal Court

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Cory Mason Representative
- Glenn Grothman Senator
- Jason Backnecht Milwaukee Area Technical College

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 11, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley,
T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber,
Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Doyle.

Moved by Representative Thiesfeldt, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, T. Larson and Kulp.

Noes: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (1) Representative Doyle.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Kolste, seconded by Representative Endsley that **Assembly Bill 829** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Noes: (4) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, Sanfelippo and Kaufert.

Absent: (1) Representative Doyle.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Elisabeth Portz Committee Clerk