Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 799

Relating to: pedestrians crossing railroad tracks and penalties for violations relating to railroad crossings and providing a penalty.

By Representatives A. Ott, Zepnick, Barca, Bies, Brooks, Ringhand, Ripp and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Hansen, T. Cullen and Schultz.

February 25, 2014 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Ripp; Representatives
		Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T.
		Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink,
		Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Spiros and Kulp.

Appearances For

- Al Ott Representative
- Sam Gratz NVSF, CN, CP, Union Pacific, and WSUR/Water Railroads
- Craig Peachy SMART
- Chris Tassone SMART
- Matt Egerer Office of Rep. Peter Barca

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jerry Petrowski Senator 29th Senate District
- Josh Zepnick Representative
- Joe Strohl BNSF RR

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 04, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Ripp; Representatives
		Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley,
		T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber,
		Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(13)Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo,
Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard
Schaber, Doyle, Riemer and Kolste.
- Noes: (1) Representative Vruwink.
- Absent: (1) Representative Danou.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 799** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes:(14)Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo,
Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard
Schaber, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
- Noes: (1) Representative Vruwink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Elisabeth Portz Committee Clerk