# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

### **Assembly Bill 388**

Relating to: traffic violations resulting in harm to vulnerable highway users, driver education instruction, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Bies, Zepnick, Ballweg, Berceau, Billings, Czaja, Doyle, Kahl, T. Larson, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Riemer, Ripp and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Shilling, T. Cullen, Lehman, Risser and Schultz.

September 23, 2013 Referred to Committee on Transportation

# October 29, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present: (12) Representative Ripp; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Pianes and Kalata

Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Doyle and Danou.

#### Appearances For

- Luther Olsen Senator
- Josh Zepnick Representative 9th district
- David Schlabowske self
- Dave Czeslevicz Wisconsin Bike Federation
- Maja Holcomb cyclists
- Greg Ferguson self
- Laurie Landgraf self

#### Appearances Against

• David Dwyer - ABATE of WI

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

# Registrations For

- Betsy Massnick Wisconsin Bike Federation
- Forbes McIntosh Wisconsin EMS Association
- Joel Patenaude Silent Sports Magazine
- Sarah Gaskell Wisconsin Bike Federation
- Garey Bies Representative

# **Registrations Against**

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• Emily Thompson - self

## February 04, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Ripp; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Endsley, seconded by Representative Kaufert that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou,

Riemer and Kolste.

Noes: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

Absent: (2) Representatives Thiesfeldt and Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Representative Sanfelippo that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Ripp; Representatives
Spiros, A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert,
Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou,
Riemer and Kolste.

Noes: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

Absent: (2) Representatives Thiesfeldt and Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Bill 388** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Noes: (2) Representatives Thiesfeldt and Sanfelippo.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Elisabeth Portz Committee Clerk