Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 244

Relating to: special distinguishing registration plates displaying the words In God We Trust and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kaufert, Thiesfeldt, Czaja, Barnes, Murphy, Schraa, A. Ott, Murtha, Spiros, Tittl, Bies, T. Larson, Pridemore, Krug, Steineke and Endsley; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Ellis and Farrow.

June 13, 2013 Referred to Committee on Transportation

September 24, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives A. Ott,

Sanfelippo, Endsley, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard

Schaber, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, T. Larson,

Vruwink and Doyle.

Appearances For

- Dean Kaufert 55th District
- David Hinds

Appearances Against

- Carol Gruba
- Patrick Elliott Freedom from Religion Foundation

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jenna Homburg Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs
- Jean Marie Hinds
- Mike Ellis Senator

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 01, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and

Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Spiros, Endsley, T. Larson and

Doyle.

November 12, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Ripp; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Doyle,

Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou and

Kolste.

Noes: (1) Representative Kaufert.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and

Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Doyle,

Danou and Kolste.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and

Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 244** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo,
Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard
Schaber, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Elisabeth Portz Committee Clerk