Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Tourism

Assembly Bill 385

Relating to: changes to the local room tax.

By Representatives Bies, Ballweg, Brooks, Clark, Genrich, Kleefisch, Mursau, Murtha, A. Ott, Petersen, Swearingen and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Cowles, Gudex, Hansen, Harsdorf, Lasee, Lehman and Tiffany.

September 23, 2013 Referred to Committee on Tourism

October 02, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Bies,

Czaja, Kleefisch, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey, Doyle, Hebl,

Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Endsley.

Appearances For

- Garey Bies Rep. State Representative 1st Assembly District
- Amy Harriman On Behalf of Senator Luther Olsen; 14th Senate District
- Trisha Pugal Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association
- Lola Roeh The Osthoff Resort
- Pam Seidl WI Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus/Fox Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau
- Bob Dove Bridgewood Resort & Hotel
- Connie Barbian IDM Group, LLC
- Buck Drossart The Pointe Hotel & Suites
- Kim Battus Minocqua Chamber of Commerce
- Greg Swanberg Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Thomas Price AmericInn
- Philip Fritsche Beaver Dam Chamber of Commerce
- Julia Hertel Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Dave Clements LaCrosse Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
- John Chastan Kalahari Resort
- Terri Schulz Waupaca Area Chamber of Commerce
- Kevin Gallagher Marcus Hotels & Resorts

Appearances Against

- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Kathy Ehley Mayor; City of Wauwatosa
- Dennis Jordan City of Lake Geneva
- Steven Ponto Mayor; City of Brookfield
- Dan Ertl City of Brookfield
- Rick Czopp Town of Brookfield
- Keith Henderson Town of Brookfield
- Larry MacDonald Mayor; City of Bayfield
- Danielle Maxwell-Parker Village of Turtle Lake
- Mike Vandersteen Mayor; City of Sheboygan
- Mark Clear
- Nick Zavos City of Madison

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Frank Lasee Senator State Senator: 1st Senate District
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Randy Harden President Wisconsin ATV Association
- Kim Heinemann Hudson Area Chamber of Commerce & Tourism Bureau
- Jason Havey Hilton of Madison
- Lisa Watts Sheraton Madison
- Tom Hyslop Lake Lawn Resort
- Stephanie Bracken The North Centrol Group owner/operator of 11 hotels in Wisconsin
- Justin Vermuth American Resort Development Association
- Jeff Anderson Waupaca Area Chamber of Commerce
- Pat Osborne Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Verne Shea Beaver Dam AmericInn
- Emma Dittmann AmericInn
- Cheryl Price AmericInn
- Pam Sanderson Holiday Inn West
- Tammie Carsdenson Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Registrations Against

• Jason Johns - Urban Alliance of Cities

• Forbes McIntosh - Dane County Cities & Villages Association

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Adam Field Committee Clerk