Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Tourism

Assembly Bill 760

Relating to: a grant program to support creative industries, job creation, or economic development in this state and making an appropriation. By Representatives Kaufert, Petryk, Brooks, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Clark, Doyle, Genrich, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hulsey, Kahl, Kolste, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Ohnstad, Richards, Ringhand, Shankland, Smith, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Vruwink, Wright and Zamarripa; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Darling, Ellis, Erpenbach, Gudex, Harris, Lassa, Lehman, Olsen, Petrowski, Schultz, Shilling, Vinehout and Wirch.

February 12, 2014 Referred to Committee on Tourism

February 19, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Bies, Czaja, Kleefisch, Endsley, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Doyle, Hebl and Ohnstad.

Absent: (2) Representatives Hulsey and Hesselbein.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Dean Kaufert Rep. 55th Assembly District
- Sheila Harsdorf Senator 10th Senate District
- Anne Katz Arts Wisconsin
- Jan Smith Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass
- Kevin Miller Thelma Sadoff Center for the Arts
- Craig Molitor Fond du Lac Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
- Jay Salinas Wormfarm Institute
- Scott Griffiths City of Washburn
- Ken Juon ArtStart Rhinelander
- Maria Dietrich Thrasher Opera House

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Mike Ellis Senator 19th Senate District
- Warren Petryk Rep. 93rd Assembly District
- John Dickert Mayor City of Racine
- Paul Fisk Mayor City of Lodi
- William Babcock Wisconsin Society of Architects
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Erin Carlson Arts Wisconsin
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Assoc.
- Pat Osborne Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Larry MacDonald Mayor City of Bayfield
- Michael Pollocoft Village of Pleasant Prairie
- Elizabeth Aguillera Arts Alliance of Portage County
- Maggie Jacobus Creative Alliance Milwaukee
- Dave Blank Real Racine (Convention & Visitors Bureau)

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 25, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Czaja, Endsley, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey, Doyle, Hebl, Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Bies and Kleefisch.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Czaja that **Assembly Bill 760** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Czaja, Endsley, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey, Doyle, Hebl, Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Bies and Kleefisch.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Adam Field

Committee Clerk