## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on State and Local Finance**

## Assembly Bill 289

Relating to: authorizing a city or village to require the Department of Revenue to redetermine the value of the tax incremental base of certain tax incremental districts.

By Representatives Schraa, Hintz, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Brooks, Ripp, Stone, Kahl, Kolste, Mason, Wright, Jorgensen, Zepnick and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Gudex, L. Taylor, Grothman, Harris, T. Cullen, Olsen and Jauch.

August 20, 2013 Referred to Committee on State and Local Finance

October 30, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

### Appearances For

- Gordon Hintz Representative 54th Assembly District
- Rick Gudex Senator 18th Senate District
- Michael Schraa Representative 53rd Assembly District
- Allen Davis City of Oshkosh
- Dan Cunningham Forward Janesville
- Peter Thillman WEDA
- Kristen Fish WEDA
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Russell Van Gompel City of Eau Claire
- Alex Young Alderman City of Rhinelander
- J. Michael Mooney Mandel Group & NAIOP
- Richard Lincoln NAIOP

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Kyle Christianson Wisconsin Counties Association
- Steward Wangard NAIOP

**Registrations For** 

- Thomas Ratclaff Mayor City of Park Falls
- John Small Wisconsin League of Municipalities

- John Weidl Village of Mukwonago
- Dan Wietecha City of Evansville
- Jim Brooks City of Evansville
- Michael Pollocoff Village of Pleasant Prairie
- John Dickert Mayor City of Racine
- Greg Hubbard Robert W. Baird & Co
- Tom Larson NAIOP
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Delora Newton Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- Rebecca Hogan WEDA

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

January 23, 2014	<b>Executive Session Held</b>
------------------	-------------------------------

Present:	(9)	Representative Stroebel; Representatives Born,
		Kestell, Weatherston, Nass, Tauchen, Zepnick,
		Hintz and Berceau.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Weatherston, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (7) Representative Stroebel; Representatives Born, Kestell, Weatherston, Nass, Tauchen and Zepnick.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Hintz and Berceau.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Bill 289** be recommended for passage as amended.

> Ayes: (9) Representative Stroebel; Representatives Born, Kestell, Weatherston, Nass, Tauchen, Zepnick, Hintz and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

John Soper Committee Clerk