Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage

Assembly Bill 497

Relating to: a higher wild animal protection surcharge for certain animals of a larger size.

By Representatives Williams, Spiros, Bies, Tittl, A. Ott, Bernier, Berceau, Ripp, Brooks and Ohnstad; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Risser and Schultz.

November 08, 2013 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage

January 29, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative A. Ott; Representatives

Kleefisch, Mursau, Nerison, Petryk, Steineke, Born, Swearingen, Skowronski, Milroy, Hebl, Clark, Danou, Hesselbein and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Williams.

Appearances For

- Senator Jerry Petrowski 29th Senate District
- Charlie Bellin State Representative Mary Williams
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Thomas Van Haren Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Jeff Geitner Wisconsin Bowhunters Association

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 27, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative A. Ott; Representatives
Williams, Mursau, Petryk, Born, Swearingen,
Skowronski, Milroy, Hebl, Clark, Danou,
Hesselbein and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Kleefisch, Nerison and Steineke.

Moved by Representative Williams, seconded by Representative Mursau that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative A. Ott; Representatives Williams, Mursau, Petryk, Born, Swearingen, Skowronski, Milroy, Hebl, Clark, Danou, Hesselbein and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (3) Representatives Kleefisch, Nerison and Steineke.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Williams, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 497** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative A. Ott; Representatives Williams, Mursau, Petryk, Born, Swearingen, Skowronski, Milroy, Hebl, Clark, Danou, Hesselbein and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (3) Representatives Kleefisch, Nerison and Steineke.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Erin Ruby

Committee Clerk