Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor

Assembly Bill 750

Relating to: preemption of local ordinances that require employees of a local governmental unit, employees of a contractor of a local governmental unit, or employees who perform work funded by a local governmental unit to be paid at a minimum wage rate specified in the ordinance and preemption of residency requirements for laborers, workers, mechanics, and truck drivers employed on local projects of public works to which the prevailing wage law applies. By Representative Kapenga; cosponsored by Senator Grothman.

February 11, 2014 Referred to Committee on Labor

February 12, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Knodl; Representatives

Kapenga, Nass, Kuglitsch, Kleefisch, Kulp,

Sinicki, C. Taylor and Ohnstad.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Steve Bass MMAC
- Sally Sprenger Supportive Homecare Options

Appearances Against

- Nicole Collazo-Santiago
- Michael Wilder Wisconsin Jobs Now
- David Bowen Supervisor Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
- Will Sandstrom
- Lisa Subeck Council Woman Madison City Council
- Tim Kiefer Supervisor Dane County Board of Supervisors
- Rosalynn Wolfe League of Young Voters
- Martha De La Rosa 9 to 5 Wisconsin
- Patrick Hickey
- Joel Lewis
- Kenneth Boster Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Matthew Finnel
- Mike Lauer
- Joanne Brown

- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Peter Rickman Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Pamela Carlson
- Renita Hoover

Appearances for Information Only

• Jim Villa - Wisconsin Realtors Association

Registrations For

- Tom Preusker City of Burlington
- Bill Smith NFIB
- Dakota Hall

Registrations Against

- Joe Parisi Executive Dane County Executive
- George Schrebbler Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Matthew Zimmerman
- Sandie Kisting
- Kathie Free
- Cory Mason Representative
- Mary Jo Walters
- Shanon Molina
- Tami Jandrowski
- Peter Barca Representative
- Cynthia Rose
- Ann McNeary
- Angela Pendley Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Denise Low
- Roshi Lawrence Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Melissa Sargent Representative
- Carlos Miranda
- Genie Ogden
- Roger Buffett
- Carolyn Castore Citizen Action of WI
- Mark Thomas
- Anne Habel
- Daniel Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Dace Zeps
- Debora knutson
- Nathan Hoffman WI Voices
- Melanie Meyer UW-Madison Student Labor Action Coalition

- Marina Dimitrijevic Supervisor Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
- Michelle Michalak
- Nikiya Harris Senator
- Steve Ralph
- Lynne MacAdam
- Dennis Oulahan
- Dwayne Block Oconomowoc Democrats Group
- Shyquetta McElrod
- Edward Jude Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Peder Johanson Reverend Interfaith Coalition for Worker Justice
- Becky Schigiel Interfaith Coalition for Worker Justice
- Robert Hudek SEIU
- Cody Misiak Madison Workers Organizing Committee
- Emily Kitchin 9 to 5 Wisconsin
- Darien Lamen Madison Workers Organizing Committee
- John Hendrick Supervisor Dane County Board of Supervisors
- Kyle Richmond Supervisor Dane County Board of Supervisors
- Joe Oulahan
- Maricio Maluffmasi
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Karen Royster Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Dave Somerscales
- Shawn Morris Wisconsin Jobs Now
- William Martin Wisconsin Jobs Now
- Lennise Vickers
- Theo Shibabaw
- Joshua Luther
- Janet Murphy
- Carrie Budahn
- Maureen Dunn
- Patrice Webb
- Brenda Wood
- Jeremy Waugh

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 13, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Knodl; Representatives Kapenga, Nass, Kuglitsch, Kleefisch, Kulp, Sinicki, C. Taylor and Ohnstad.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Knodl; Representatives Kapenga, Nass, Kuglitsch, Kleefisch and Kulp.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, C. Taylor and Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Kuglitsch that **Assembly Bill 750** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Knodl; Representatives Kapenga, Nass, Kuglitsch, Kleefisch and Kulp.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, C. Taylor and Ohnstad.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Mark Austinson
Committee Clerk