## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Judiciary**

### **Assembly Bill 19**

Relating to: torts and personal injury trusts.

By Representatives Jacque, Honadel, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Schraa, Spiros, Stone, Strachota, Thiesfeldt and Weininger; cosponsored by Senators Grothman and Lasee.

February 15, 2013 Referred to Committee on Judiciary

April 04, 2013 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (8) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Jacque,

Kerkman, August, T. Larson, Hebl, Wachs and

Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Craig.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Jacque bill's author
- Marc Scarcella WMC
- Andrew Cook Wisconsin Civil Justice Council
- Trevor Will WI Civil Justice Council
- Senator Glenn Grothman bill's author
- Brad Boycks WI Builders Assoc.
- Scott Manley WMC

#### Appearances Against

- Jeff Pitman WI Assoc. for Justice
- Jill Rukowski WI Assoc. for Justice
- Betty Byer WI Assoc, for Justice
- Attorny Michael Pollack and Marybeth Nuutinen Husbach
- John Schmitt WI Labor District Council
- Keith Kemper Sheet Metal Workers Local 18

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Nancy Rottier Director of State Courts
- S. Todd Brown self

## **Registrations For**

- Andy Franken WI Insurance Alliance
- Bill G. Smith NFIB

#### • Angela James - WI Paper Council

## Registrations Against

- Scott Nuutinen
- Jeff Byers
- Terry Nelson Laborers
- Rick Pusa Laborer's Local 113
- Anthony Neira Laborers Local 113
- Corey Sheer Laborers
- Paul Zimmer Laborers
- Sean Maher Local 113
- Bernie Samz WI Laborers
- Mark Linsmeier Wisconsin Laborers
- Dean Allen Scanlon WI Laborers
- Mr. Braun Local 113
- Jorge Jaramillo Local 113
- Luis Guervara Local 113
- John Streeter Laborers local 113
- Kent Miller Wisconsin Laboreres
- Makino Sanchez Laborers Local 113
- Robert Zillman self
- Chris Olig Laborers
- Marylou Wittmann Laborers Local 114
- Angela Armonda Laborers 464
- Michael Emordeno Laborers Local 113
- Nick Herke Laborers
- Corey McGivern Laborers 464
- James Probol
- Toby Meicher Laborers 464
- Hurbert Heller (sp?)
- Scott Nuutinen Plumbers & Steamfitter Local 400
- Dan Burke
- Ken Clevenger
- Joe Oswald Laborers
- Robert Kraig Citizen Action of WI
- Genie Ogden
- Craig Peachy UTU Smart
- Mike Sheridan AFL-CIO
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Traders Assoc.
- Kevin La More Steamfitters Local 601
- Steve Breitlow Plumbers Local 75
- Mark Beihl WI State Council of Carpenters
- Nacarci Feaster Laborers Local 113

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### April 25, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Jacque,

Kerkman, August, T. Larson, Craig, Wachs and

Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Hebl.

Moved by Representative Wachs, seconded by Representative Goyke that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (2) Representatives Wachs and Goyke.

Noes: (6) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Jacque, Kerkman, August, T. Larson and

Craig.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Jacque that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representative J. Ott; Representatives
Jacque, Kerkman, August, T. Larson, Craig
and Goyke.

Noes: (1) Representative Wachs. Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative August that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Jacque, Kerkman, August, T. Larson and Craig. Noes: (2) Representatives Wachs and Goyke.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative August that **Assembly Bill 19** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative J. Ott; Representatives Jacque, Kerkman, August, T. Larson and Craig.

Noes: (2) Representatives Wachs and Goyke.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk