# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Health**

#### Assembly Bill 453

Relating to: uses and disclosures of protected health information. By Representatives Severson, Pasch, Ballweg, Danou, Jagler, Kolste, Sanfelippo, Steineke, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Brooks, Doyle, Hebl, Kaufert, Kestell, LeMahieu, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Richards, Riemer, Ringhand, Spiros, Strachota, Wachs and Jorgensen; cosponsored by Senators Vukmir, Carpenter, Shilling, Harsdorf, Harris, Risser, Lehman, Erpenbach, Farrow, Olsen, Hansen, Moulton, Lassa and Darling.

October 18, 2013 Referred to Committee on Health

### October 22, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(10)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Severson, Strachota, Kapenga, Petersen,
		Steineke, Pasch, C. Taylor, Kolste and Riemer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Erik Severson Rep. 28th Assembly District
- Rick Hafer Dr. UW Health
- Lisa Maroney UW Health
- Matthew Stanford Wisconsin Hospital Association

Appearances Against

- William Parke-Sutherland Grassroots Empowerment Project
- Chris Hendrickson Independent Living Council of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Leah Vukmir Sen. 5th Senate District
- Frank Lasee Sen. 1st Senate District
- Patti Jo Severson Gundersen Health System
- Kyle O'Brien Wisconsin Hospital Association
- Jeremy Levin Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
- Karla Ashenhurst Ministry Health Care

- Eric Jensen Wisconsin Psychiatric Association
- Chris Abele Milwaukee County Executive
- Ryan Natzke Marshfield Clinic
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
- Heather Berlinkski Mayo Health Clinic
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Jason Childress Aurora Healthcare
- Heidi Selberg Hospital Sisters Health System

#### **Registrations Against**

• Kit Kerschensteiner - Disability Rights Wisconsin

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

#### November 05, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Strachota, Kapenga, Petersen, Steineke, Pasch,
		C. Taylor, Kolste and Riemer.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Severson.

Moved by Representative Pasch, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Bill 453** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(8)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Strachota, Kapenga, Petersen, Steineke, Pasch, Kolste and Riemer.
Noes:	(1)	Representative C. Taylor.

Absent: (1) Representative Severson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 1

AJ Scholz Committee Clerk