Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations and State Licensing

Assembly Bill 85

Relating to: changing the compensation structure by which a Milwaukee County supervisor may be paid, changing the term length of a Milwaukee County supervisor, affecting the right of an annuitant under the Milwaukee County Employee's Retirement System to be rehired by Milwaukee County, limiting the authority of Milwaukee County to enter into certain intergovernmental agreements, removing and clarifying some authority of the Milwaukee County board, increasing and clarifying the authority of the Milwaukee County executive, deleting obsolete statutory references, and requiring a referendum.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, Kooyenga, Hutton, Craig, Kuglitsch, Knodl, Stone, J. Ott, Honadel, Pridemore, Weatherston, Stroebel, Brooks, LeMahieu, Bernier and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Darling, L. Taylor, Vukmir, Lazich and Farrow.

March 18, 02013 Licensing Referred to Committee on Government Operations and State

April 10, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative August; Representatives Craig,

Knodl, Kooyenga, Hutton, Nass, Hulsey,

Sinicki and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Joe Sanfelippo Representative 15th Assembly District
- Bob Delaporte Senator Alberta Darling
- Chris Abele County Executive Milwaukee County
- Rich Muessen Badger Meter
- Chas Mulcahy
- Julia Taylor Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Paul Tittl Representative 25th District
- Joseph Rice
- Lena Taylor Senator 4th Senate District
- Jason Fields Global Ex, LLC
- Tia Torhorst
- Michael Neitzke Mayor City of Greenfield
- Steve Scaffidi Mayor City of Oak Creek
- Brian Schopper Greater Milwaukee Committee

- Orville Seymer CRG Network
- Deanna Alexander Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Alonzo Kelly

Appearances Against

- Marina Dimitrijevic Chairwoman Milwaukee County Board
- Evan Goyke Representative 18th District
- Denise Lowe
- Lennise Vickers
- Elliott Magers Voces de la Frontera
- Linea Sundstrom
- Peter Rickman We Are Milwaukee
- Willie Brisco
- Nicole Collazo-Santiago
- Jamie Lewis WFNMP
- Todd Sprewer, Sr Milwaukee
- John Pokrandt
- Martin Farell
- John Weishan Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Tim Carpenter Senator 3rd Senate District
- Nikiya Harris Senator 6th Senate District
- Peggy Romo West Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- David Cullen Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Mandela Barnes Representative 11th Assembly District
- LaTonya Johnson Representative 17th Assembly District
- Chris Rockwood
- Charlie Kamps Preserve Our Parks
- Russell Stamper, II Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Dayvin Hallmon Supervisor Kenosha County
- Angela Walker ATU Local 998
- Liz Stephens WI Counties Association
- David Bowen Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Theodore Lipscomb Supervisor Milwaukee County Board
- Khalif Rainey Congresswoman Moore

Appearances for Information Only

- Tom Taylor Mayor City of Franklin
- Willie Johnson, Jr Supervisor Milwaukee County

Registrations For

- Leah Vukmir Senator 5th Senate District
- George Mitchell

Registrations Against

- Mike Sheridan AFL-CIO
- Frederick Kessler Representative 12th Assembly District
- Josh Zepnick Representative 9th Assembly District
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- JoCasta Zamarripa Representative 8th Assembly District
- Rhonda Willette
- Jon Richards Representative 19th Assembly District
- Nichole Yunk Todd
- Douglas Cvetkovich
- Daniel Riemer Representative 7th Assembly District
- Carol Gruba
- Kathleen Hart
- Carrie Manson
- Craig Wentzel Grassroots Tosa
- Chris Larson Senator 7th Senate District
- Steve Rasmussen Chairman Dunn County
- Genie Ogden
- Leon Young Representative 16th Assembly District
- Sandy Pasch Representative 10th Assembly District
- Andy Andre
- Regina Harmon
- Tiaira Turner
- Kathleen Lidwin
- Thomas Mueller Father MICAH
- Peter Mischke
- Martha Pincus
- Jason Haas
- Don Wescher
- Mike Wilder

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 11, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative August; Representatives Craig,

Knodl, Kooyenga, Hutton, Nass, Hulsey,

Sinicki and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Nass that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative August; Representatives Craig, Knodl, Kooyenga, Hutton, Nass, Hulsey, Sinicki and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Craig, seconded by Representative Hutton that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative August; Representatives Craig, Knodl, Kooyenga, Hutton, Nass, Hulsey, Sinicki and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Craig, seconded by Representative Nass that **Assembly Bill 85** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative August; Representatives Craig, Knodl, Kooyenga, Hutton and Nass.

Noes: (3) Representatives Hulsey, Sinicki and Ringhand.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Luke Bacher
Committee Clerk