Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Environment and Forestry

Assembly Bill 131

Relating to: the sale of lead acid batteries and acceptance of used lead acid batteries.

By Representatives Honadel, Thiesfeldt, Barnes, Bies, Brooks, Hebl, Hulsey, Kolste, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Pasch, Riemer, Stone and Wright; cosponsored by Senators C. Larson, Cowles, Carpenter, Grothman, Harris, Olsen and L. Taylor.

April 04, 02013 Referred to Committee on Environment and Forestry

July 23, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug,

Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Danou, Milroy and

Clark.

Absent: (1) Representative Czaja.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Tony Driessen Battery Council International
- Mike Moeller Remy Battery Company, Inc

Appearances Against

• Ron Kuehn - Wisconsin Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Chris Larson Senator 7th Senate District
- Steve Conway Battery Council International
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Retail Merchants Association
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Scott Stenger Alliance of Wisconsin Retailers

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

August 06, 2013 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (6) Representative Mursau; Representatives Czaja,

Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Milroy and Clark.

Absent: (2) Representatives Krug and Danou.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Czaja, seconded by Representative Clark that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Mursau; Representatives Czaja, Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Milroy and

Clark.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Krug and Danou.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Clark, seconded by Representative Czaja that **Assembly Bill 131** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Mursau; Representatives Czaja, Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Milroy and

Clark.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Krug and Danou.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 0

Tim Gary
Committee Clerk