Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Environment and Forestry

Assembly Bill 680

Relating to: adaptive management plans for reducing discharges of phosphorus and total suspended solids to the waters of the state and a statewide variance to the water quality standard for phosphorus for certain dischargers.

By Representatives Loudenbeck, Krug, Ballweg, Bies, Czaja, LeMahieu, Marklein, Spiros, Steineke, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Kulp and Kaufert; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Farrow and Petrowski.

January 28, 2014 Referred to Committee on Environment and Forestry

January 30, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug, Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Danou, Milroy and Clark.

Absent: (1) Representative Czaja.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Amy Loudenbeck Representative 31st Assembly District
- Rob Cowles Senator 2nd Senate District
- Jim Vanden Brook Wisconsin Land and Water Conservation Association
- David Lawrence Wisconsin Rural Water Association
- Daniel Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Eric Bott Wisconsin Maufacturers and Commerce
- Tim Reel Municipal Environmental Group
- Paul Kent Municipal Environmental Group

Appearances Against

- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Lisa Conley Town & Country RC&D
- Dick Lamers The Red Cedar River Watersheds
- Elizabeth Katt Clean Lakes Alliance
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Association of Professional Agricultural Consultants
- Denny Caneff River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Denny Caneff River Alliance of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

 Russ Rasmussen - Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Registrations For

- Shawn Pfaff Wisconsin Cheesemakers
- Laura Fiske Dairy Business Association
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Forbes McIntosh Dane County Cities & Villages Association
- Paul Farrow Senator 33rd Senate District
- Scott Suder Wisconsin Paper Council

Registrations Against

- John Keckhaver Wisconsin Lakes
- Stacy Harbaugh Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Jennifer Giegrich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Todd Holschbach Wisconsin Nature Conservancy
- Carol Gruba
- Megan Severson Wisconsin Environment
- Mary Jo Walters
- Barbara Gifford Friends of the Little Plover River
- James Gifford

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 08 2014	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resoluti	on 1

Tim Gary
Committee Clerk