# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Environment and Forestry**

### **Assembly Bill 679**

Relating to: high capacity well approvals.

By Representatives Mursau, A. Ott, LeMahieu, Ripp and Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Kedzie, Gudex and Tiffany.

January 28, 2014 Referred to Committee on Environment and Forestry

January 30, 2014 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (7) Representative Mursau; Representatives Krug, Loudenbeck, Stroebel, Danou, Milroy and Clark.

Absent: (1) Representative Czaja.

Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Neal Kedzie Senator 11th Senate District
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Duane Maatz Wisconsisn Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Steve Diercks Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Sandy Larson Larson Farms

#### Appearances Against

- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Gail Kretschmer Protect Wood County and Its Neighbors
- Bruce Dimich Protect Wood County
- Fred Olsen
- Lisa Conley Town and Country RC&D
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Mary Walters
- Jennifer Giegrich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Helen Sourkinos River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- MaryJo Walters

### Appearances for Information Only

- Eric Ebbersberger Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- GeorgeJ Kraft
- Ken Bradbury Wisconsin Geological Survey

## Registrations For

- Eric Bott Wisconsin Maufacturers and Commerce
- John Manske Cooperative Network
- Laura Riske Dairy Business Association
- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemen's Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- John Umhoefer Wisconsin Cheesemakers Association
- Todd Bressmer Wisconsin Agriculture Business Association

### Registrations Against

- Christia Westerburg
- Barbara Gifford Friends of the Little Ployer River
- Katrina Shankland Representative 71st Assembly District
- Rick Potter Protect Wood County
- Rick Potter Central Wisconsin Grassroots Aliiance
- James Gifford
- John Stangler
- Alfred Staugher
- Stacy Harbaugh Midwest Environmental Advocates
- John Keckhaver Wisconsin Lakes
- Robert A Wright Protect Wood County
- Jerry Knuth Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Todd Holschbach Wisconsin Nature Conservancy
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- Genie Ogden
- Bernie Schlafke
- Dawn Egan
- Paula Mohan
- Ruth Simpson
- Megan Severson Wisconsin Environment

• Erin O'Brien - Wisconsin Wetlands Association

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Tim Gary Committee Clerk