Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 779

Relating to: state 911 telecommunications services, police and fire protection fee imposed on certain communications services, granting rule-making authority, and making appropriations.

By Representatives Tittl, Schraa, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bies, Doyle, Endsley, Hintz, Kaufert, Kestell, Kleefisch, Kolste, Krug, Kulp, Murphy, A. Ott, Petryk, Ripp, Shankland, Smith, Swearingen and Weatherston; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Gudex, L. Taylor, Harsdorf, Lazich, Lassa, Lehman, Tiffany and Schultz.

February 18, 2014 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

March 05, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives T. Larson, Jacque, Weininger, Neylon, Zepnick,

Hulsey and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Severson, Petersen and Kahl.

Appearances For

- Joe Leibham Senator 9th Senate District
- Paul Tittl Representative 25th Assembly District
- Brent Olsen Sheriff Badget State Sheriff's Association
- Shelby Schmidt Wisconsin-National Emergency Number Association
- Peggy Fielder Sheboygan County
- Keith Kesler Douglas County 911
- Jan Victorson Bayfield County
- Dale Wiegand Door County
- Tim Herlache City of Sturgeon Bay
- John Dejung APCO/NENA of Wisconsin
- Peter Kammer Wisconsin State Telecommunication Association
- Patrick Fucik Spring
- Sarah Diedrick-kascorf Wisconsin Counties Association
- Nicole Hudzinski American Heart Association
- Curt Witynski League of Municipalities
- Chris LaRowe LaRowe WI Public Service (WPS)
- Michael Welsh U.S. Cellular

Appearances Against

- Doug Pettit Chief Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Eric Haas Trempealeau County Emergency Management

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Cullen Delton Brown County Public Safty Comm.
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- Bob Welch N-Sight (Cellcom)
- Tim Ullman Door County
- Kathryn Schamf Sauk County
- Matt Phillips Verizon Wireless
- Lorenzo Cruz Century Link
- Jay Loeffler La Crosse County Emergency Services
- Tom Genthner Kenosha Joint Services
- Michael Blodgett Kenosha Joint Services/WI-APCO
- Joshua Nielsen Kenosha Joint Services
- Chris Kunkle TW Telecom
- Drew Petersen TDS
- Tom Fonfara T-Mobile

Registrations Against

- Tom Frank Chief Cedarburg Police Department
- Peter Hoell Chief Village Germantown
- Dennis Nosci Chief Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Jennifer Gonda City of Milwaukee

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 08, 2014 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Matt Spencer Committee Clerk