# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 343**

Relating to: the distribution by schools of a concussion and head injury information sheet and the participation by pupils in a youth athletic activity. By Representatives Ripp, Berceau, Brooks, Craig, Endsley, Murphy, Nass, Ohnstad, Pridemore, Ringhand, Spiros, Strachota, Thiesfeldt and Wright; cosponsored by Senators Farrow, Darling, Grothman, Harsdorf, Risser, L. Taylor and Lehman.

August 27, 02013 Referred to Committee on Education

September 25, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Kestell; Representatives Jagler,

Nass, Pridemore, Marklein, Thiesfeldt, Pope,

Clark, Wright and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Severson.

#### Appearances For

- Paul Farrow Senator 33rd Senate District
- Wade Labecki Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association
- Brian Smith WI Athletic Directors Association

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

### Registrations For

- Keith Ripp Representative 42nd Assembly District
- Alberta Darling Senator 8th Senate District
- Jennifer Kammerud Department of Public Instruction
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Mike VanVeghel Wisconsin Athletic Trainers Association
- Michelle Mettner Children's Hospital
- Michael Welsh Medical College of Wisconsin

# Registrations Against

• None.

# **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

# October 03, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Kestell; Representatives Jagler,

Pridemore, Thiesfeldt, Pope, Clark, Wright and

Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Nass, Marklein and Severson.

Moved by Representative Jagler, seconded by Representative Pridemore that **Assembly Bill 343** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Kestell; Representatives Jagler, Pridemore, Thiesfeldt, Pope, Clark,

Wright and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (3) Representatives Nass, Marklein and

Severson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Chris Kulow Committee Clerk