# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### **Assembly Bill 260**

Relating to: enrollment requirements for recipients of talent incentive grants. By Representatives Ballweg, Berceau, Brooks, Czaja, Hebl, Jacque, Kahl, T. Larson, Milroy, Nass, A. Ott, Schraa, Sinicki, Stone and C. Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Olsen, Erpenbach, Lassa and Lehman.

July 02, 02013 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

#### August 15, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Nass; Representatives Murphy, Knudson, Weatherston, Stroebel, Ballweg,

Krug, Schraa, Bewley, Hesselbein and Wachs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Billings and Berceau.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Joan Ballweg 41st Assembly District
- John Reinemann WI Higher Education Aids Board
- Mark Nook UW-System
- Rolf Wegenke WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

### Registrations For

- Don Nelson UW-Madison
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University
- Grant Huber UW System
- Wendy Wink WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Sen. Fred Risser 26th Senate District
- Jennifer Kammerud WI Department of Public Instruction

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

#### October 10, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Nass; Representatives Murphy,

Knudson, Weatherston, Stroebel, Ballweg, Schraa, Bewley, Billings, Hesselbein, Wachs

and Berceau.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Weatherston that **Assembly Bill 260** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Nass; Representatives Murphy, Knudson, Weatherston, Stroebel,

Ballweg, Schraa, Bewley, Billings, Hesselbein, Wachs and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Krug.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk