Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance and Housing

Senate Joint Resolution 21

Relating to: the right of the people to contract privately for health care services and health care coverage, and prohibiting requiring a person to obtain or maintain health insurance coverage or to participate in any health care system or plan (first consideration).

By Senators Leibham, Lasee, Hopper, Galloway, Lazich, Moulton and Darling; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Steineke, Kestell, August, Meyer, Strachota, Nygren, Severson, Petryk, Krug, Ziegelbauer, Petersen, Bies, Spanbauer, LeMahieu, Kleefisch, Endsley, Honadel and Mursau.

April 12, 2011 Referred to Committee on Insurance and Housing.

October 11, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lasee, Schultz, Olsen, Wanggaard,

Carpenter, S. Coggs and C. Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Bill Smith NFIB/Wis
- Tim Dake Grandsons of Liberty
- David Luepke WI Health Freedom Coalition
- Kirsten Lombard WI 912 Project
- Larry Gamble Grandsons of Liberty
- Dan Horvatin Rock River Patriots
- Marv Munyon, Watertown WI Capitol Watch
- Annette Olson, Glenwood City

Appearances Against

- Sabrina Gentile WI Council on Children and Families
- Diane Craney WEAC
- Edward Kuharski

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Shirley Pape
- Deb Klass

- Louise Genge
- Barb Miller
- Bob Miller
- Millie Ben, Janesville
- Kayla Klass
- Edith Gamble
- Regina Bartkowski
- Tony Driessen, Madison WI Assn of Health Underwriters
- James Bartkowski
- John Bandow
- Lisa Meyer
- Jack Poland
- Roger Stenberg
- Marcia Stenberg
- Theresa Gamble
- Rep Robin Vos Assembly
- Margaret Grottke
- Bill Elmhorst
- Stephen Grottke
- Ross Brown
- Shirley Papke
- Louise Genge
- John Bandow
- Sharon Fredenberg

Registrations Against

- Adam Korbitz State Bar Public Interest
- Sen Jon Erpenbach Senator

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 15, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (6) Senators Lasee, Schultz, Olsen, Wanggaard,

Carpenter and C. Larson.

Absent: (1) Senator S. Coggs.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Schultz, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Joint Resolution 21** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senators Lasee, Schultz, Olsen and

Wanggaard.

Noes: (2) Senators Carpenter and C. Larson.

Absent: (1) Senator S. Coggs.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 2

Tony Urso Committee Clerk