Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Health, Human Services, and Revenue

Senate Bill 82

Relating to: delegation by a parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child of powers regarding the care and custody of the child by a power of attorney.

By Senators Moulton, Grothman and Galloway; cosponsored by Representatives Kooyenga, Pridemore, Bernier, Farrow, Fields, Jorgensen, Kapenga, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kuglitsch, LeMahieu, Mursau, A. Ott, Petrowski, Ripp, Rivard, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Turner, Wynn and Ziegelbauer.

April 28, 2011 Referred to Committee on Public Health, Human Services, and Revenue.

May 25, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (4) Resigned Galloway; Senators Lazich, Vukmir and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Jauch.

Appearances For

- Terry Moulton Senator, 23rd Senate District
- Dale Kooyenga Representative, 14th Assembly District
- Mike Murphy, Brookfield Elmbrook Church
- Dave Anderson, Chicago Safe Families Wisconsin
- Rona Neri-Bergmann, Waunakee Safe Families
- Traci Weldie, Watertown Safe Families Milwaukee
- Rob Rennix, Janesville Safe Families Rockford, IL
- Julaine Appling, Madison Wisconsin Family Action
- Tryg Knutson, Waunakee
- Asher Sawyers, Milwaukee
- Sarah Stanfield, Rockford Lydia Safe Families
- Dave Stanfield, Rockford Lydia Safe Families
- Susan Vergerow
- Jennifer Brady, Machesney Park Safe Families
- Randi Othrow, McFarland State Bar of Wisconsin -Children & Law Section
- Robin Stuht, East Troy Safe Families

Appearances Against

• Nancy Rottier, Madison — Director of State Courts

Appearances for Information Only

• Joe Strohl, Madison — Menominee Indian Tribes

Registrations For

- Andre Jacque Representative, 2nd Assembly District
- Harold Tack, Waunakee Safe Families
- Anita Hughes, Rockford Safe Familes For Children
- Wendy Vincent, Waunakee
- John Alberts, Oconomowoc St. Croix Chippewa

Registrations Against

• Joanne Kanter, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Eric Searing Committee Clerk